Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Bicycle Mechanics (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Road/lightgravel wheelset for 2019 Trek Boone 7 Disk 2019 (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1173844)

rogiedodgie 05-24-19 09:27 AM

Road/lightgravel wheelset for 2019 Trek Boone 7 Disk 2019

Hi all,
I finally decided to take the plunge and get into cycling thanks to a deal I couldn't pass up on a new 2019 Trek Boone 7 Disk stock configured.
I am already thinking along the lines of riding some gravel roads here in SC with the stock configuration.
However, for rides with light gravel / road, I was thinking it would be nice to get a lighter, thinner wheelset / tires.
Since I am a bit of a newbie, and there are lots of specs that must match up in order for a wheelset to be compatible, I was hoping for a bit of advice as I begin my cycling career.
Can anyone suggest some good budget wheelsets for this purpose, and maybe suggest a resource where I could come away knowing enough to make this type of choice on my own?
Sincerely,
Roger

fietsbob 05-24-19 09:47 AM

How about a custom built wheelset and you can pick the rim and spokes ..

Any suggestions from your Trek dealer ...?

hubs have to be compatible with your indexed shifting kit...

rogiedodgie 05-24-19 10:00 AM

Thanks for replying,
Well, I bought the bike from someone off Craigslist, he had like 10 bikes and this one he never even rode it! yikes! So I don't have a Trek dealer to consult, per se.
How would you go about getting a custom built wheelset, what site, what specs would they need?
Roger

Originally Posted by fietsbob (Post 20945580)
How about a custom built wheelset and you can pick the rim and spokes ..

Any suggestions from your Trek dealer ...?

hubs have to be compatible with your indexed shifting kit...

fietsbob 05-24-19 10:06 AM

one contact some one who builds wheels

Mr Rabbit and Dan Burkhart are 2 forum members who build wheels