Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=248)
-   -   Pedal recommendations (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1182863)

Shadowx 09-03-19 08:00 PM

Pedal recommendations

Getting back on my bike. I did not get out last year or this year so far. and I need to get back at it. I need some pedal recommendations, standard style. Previously I broke my stock pedals, switched to SPD, but had a bunch of shoe trouble and can't afford proper shoes and switching clip in pedals. Just looking for a good pair of standard style pedals with bearings for a clyde.

sdmc530 09-03-19 08:13 PM

I wish I could help you with some good flats...I have zero experience with them. I always ride with SPD-SL now and don't prefer to ride any other way.

good luck.....

DrIsotope 09-03-19 08:32 PM

Tough to go wrong with Wellgo MG-1s. They were my go-to pedal prior to clipping in.

Outback Cayucan 09-03-19 11:26 PM

Chester Race Face serve me well. Check Rivendell website for responsible guidance.

Gconan 09-04-19 02:02 AM

Pedaling Innovations

I love the large platforms. Firm foundation.

zjrog 09-04-19 09:13 AM

I had good luck with Wellgo pedals in the past. But I need a wider pedal now, the above mentioned pedals may fit the bill. I use pedal extenders as it is, I have heel strike on the right side chainstay.

I have SPD MTB double sided pedals on one bike, and I just can't get the hang of getting clipped in. These will go to my bike I keep on my trainer for the winter. Maybe, just maybe I can get the hang of them...

frogbiscuit 09-04-19 09:18 AM

Originally Posted by Outback Cayucan (Post 21106931)
Chester Race Face serve me well. Check Rivendell website for responsible guidance.

Love my Chesters. I wear New Balance skater shoes, wide enough for my duck feet, and a nice stiff sole.

wsteve464 09-04-19 09:20 AM