Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Winter Cycling (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=53)
-   -   Gravel bike or MTB for winter commuting? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1210354)

KatieC 08-15-20 09:52 AM

Gravel bike or MTB for winter commuting?

I’m looking for opinions on which type of bike to use for winter commuting. I commuted year round via mountain bike for a couple of years and had studded Nokian tires, it worked great. I recently purchased a gravel bike that could also be a decent winter commuter.

I am familiar with mountain bikes in the winter. They work well. But I am new to gravel bikes. There are studded tires available for them and I can see some possible advantages to the gravel bike.

If you were in my position, with one of each type of bike, which would you prefer to commute on in the winter time?

wolfchild 08-16-20 07:13 AM

Choose whichever bike works better for your local conditions that you're riding in. You said that you already have experience with riding a mountain bike. What you need to do is ride your gravel bike and compare its performance to that of your MTB and then choose whichever bike you like more.

fietsbob 08-16-20 12:43 PM

There are studded tires in both types like 37-622 , 50-559 & even for fat bike wheels..

I have an old MTB sitting in the basement, with studded tires on it .. performance is not an issue ..

tyrion 08-16-20 12:49 PM

When commuting in traffic, having my head up high is important. +1 for mountain bike.

But you can get better fenders for non-suspended bikes - don't know if that's important to you.

Drop bars are generally better for longer distances.

wipekitty 08-16-20 01:26 PM

I use both!