Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   General Cycling Discussion (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Multiple Myeloma diagnosis (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=171481)

netso 02-04-06 09:59 AM

Multiple Myeloma diagnosis

I have just been diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma. Does anyone on this forum have it? Has it changed your riding? I will be taking Procrit (EPO), my hematocrit and iron levels are very low. I am scared, but I hear the disease is easily managed.
Stan

Nubie 02-04-06 11:33 AM

Netso,

I am saddened to hear of your PCM (Plasma Cell Myeloma) diagnosis. The good news is that there are plenty of good treatments out there, and it has an excellent prognosis. Have you had a bone marrow biopsy yet? And do you have a good hematologist-oncologist? My ability to help you is limited - I am a pathology resident about to go into my hemepath fellowship. Depending on your treatment, you will probably be pretty fatigued. Take it easy. You will return to riding soon enough.

It's understandable to be scared. I had recurrent cancer with mets and I was terrified. But you have an excellent prognosis. Do you have a supportive family? I also recommend that you not only bring up your concerns with your Heme-Onc doctor but also find a counselor to talk to. Your doc can recommend someone.

Hang in there.

alanbikehouston 02-04-06 12:21 PM

You are taking some tough news with a positive attitude, and that is the key to regaining your health. A friend of mine has been dealing with similar problems the past two years. She has times when her treatment makes her too tired to ride, but most of the time, she rides every day. Riding has helped her to get stronger, and has helped her spirits as well.

So, ride when you feel like it. Sometimes even a short, easy ride is a good way to relax and deal with stress. Best wishes for a swift recovery.

Jed19 02-04-06 07:51 PM