Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Looking for 2X crank for my gravel bike (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1175507)

Noctilux.95 06-12-19 09:55 PM

Looking for 2X crank for my gravel bike

Right now I have a Shimano Ultegra 8000 crank with Absolute Black 48-32 oval chainrings. I hate them! The drivetrain is noisy except in the middle cogs. I've had three of the best mechanics in town dialing in the front derailleur without much success. All three mechanics hate oval rings. So now I'm looking at the Easton EC90SL (46-30), Shimano GRX 810 (48-31), and Praxis Zayante M30 Carbon 48-32. My bike is a 2019 Giant Revolt Advanced 0 with Ultegra drivetrain. The crank/chainrings need to play nice with Shimano Ultegra front derailleur.

Teamprovicycle 06-12-19 10:06 PM

im not an expert ,, but i usually just run a compact double sram gxp , i have a fsa crank in a hollowtech 2 BB. i assume your going from a triple oval ( interesting ) to a compact double ?

maybe your front mech is damaged or took a hit if its making noises it should not ??
maybe you could just try an ultegra crank or 105 ???

if you are doing gravel , i think it would be wise to focus on the crank more than the rings because then you can just get a bunch a rings to match your terrain and you will never be miss-geared on your rides , assuming you look at the route or do minor research into the terrain , elevation and such ...

TimothyH 06-12-19 10:16 PM

I can't help with the new crank selection but I can offer what I found through trial and error, that the front derailleur can't be angled with oval rings. The cage has to be parallel with the rings but even so, there will be some rub especially with larger range cassettes used for gravel. It isn't perfect on my bike but I am running an 11/42 MTB cassette.