Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Bicycle Mechanics (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Campagnolo Record Carbon Crankset Faillure (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1176068)

3rg0 06-19-19 05:00 AM

Campagnolo Record Carbon Crankset Failure

Hola,

I have a big problem with my Campy crankset...the alloy part (the one from BB) in the left arm has unglued from the carbon frame of the arm and now it moves. I don't know why..I didn't hit it or smth...can I repair this with rivets? Thank you!https://cimg0.ibsrv.net/gimg/bikefor...888811fbc3.png
https://cimg3.ibsrv.net/gimg/bikefor...2355fcee65.jpg

nomadmax 06-19-19 05:22 AM

I'm no carbon expert but if that happened to me, that crank would be trash.

rhenning 06-19-19 05:55 AM

It is at this point a pretty piece of junk. Roger

3rg0 06-19-19 06:32 AM

It won't move whole 360 degrees, it's still rideable, but it moves like one mm and it make some sounds...:( I love this crank so much...WHY GOOOOD WHYYYY??? :(((((

Cyclist0108 06-19-19 06:45 AM

Try glue. You have nothing to lose (except maybe your life when the thing catastrophically fails).

It was glued in there to begin with.

Some stuff really ought to be made out of metal.

3rg0 06-19-19 06:55 AM

["Mission Impossible" theme song playing]

My plan is to use rivets or screws (i have to drill holes in carbon material to reach the aluminium) so in this way i can pump some strong glue inside and fix the alloy with rivets or screws...Did i have a chance? I have nothing to lose now :))

https://cimg6.ibsrv.net/gimg/bikefor...ccf0ac0095.png

Leebo 06-19-19 06:56 AM

Contact Campy?

HillRider 06-19-19 07:00 AM

How old is this crank? I assume several years since it's a square taper. Try contacting Campagnolo-USA and see if they will warranty it with a repair or replacement.