Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=220)
-   -   70 years old Biking for 3 months (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1029970)

Bart Segall 09-15-15 02:14 PM

70 years old Biking for 3 months

I am 70 years old and purchased a TREK FX 7.7 2015. I started slow and now have been averaging 100 +- for 1 month. My average speed is 13.2mph. My avg heart rate is 122 and I try to keep cadence at 60 rpm. What would be the best way to increase my speed. I use Cyclometer and upload to Strava

RonH 09-15-15 02:32 PM

I too am 70 and the best way to increase your speed would be to increase your cadence. Do you ride with clipless pedals? I've been riding with clipless pedals since 2000. They keep your feet in one place so all the peddling energy goes to riding, not keeping your foot in place. Concentrate on riding, not watching numbers as you ride or your breathing. You could also ride in the next harder get than usual. Good luck.

Bart Segall 09-15-15 02:49 PM

Yes I use clipless pedals SPD Shimano. The only thing that concerns me is heart rate. At my age 160 appears to be my max. But I will increase cadence and see what happens

ironwood 09-15-15 02:51 PM

I'm 74 and have been riding for about 68 years and I don't care about going faster nor do I know what my heart rate is, nor do I know what my cadence is. I gave up clips and never rode clipless pedals, just platform pedals. I have no idea what cyclometer or strava are.

RonH 09-15-15 03:04 PM

Originally Posted by Bart Segall (Post 18166642)
Yes I use clipless pedals SPD Shimano. The only thing that concerns me is heart rate. At my age 160 appears to be my max. But I will increase cadence and see what happens

As your heart gets fitter your HR will drop. You'll find that you can ride hard and fast and your HR possibly won't exceed 140.

Rich Gibson 09-15-15 03:36 PM