Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   General Cycling Discussion (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Hand signals? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1178846)

gios 07-20-19 05:15 AM

Hand signals?

So I was passing a couple - guy in front and a woman behind him. As I was coming up on her left and passing, she did what I took to be a signal - tapped her left top of her thigh then pointed downward. I just rode by. Was she telling me I could pass on the left?

freeranger 07-20-19 05:23 AM

I've found that if a rider is pointing downward, they are pointing to something that you may want to avoid. Pothole, part of a broken branch, piece of glass, etc. No idea what it means along with tapping to top of the thigh.

2manybikes 07-20-19 05:28 AM

Yes, pointing down usually means something to go around.

bruce19 07-20-19 06:25 AM

I've been riding for 40 yrs and I have no idea what that means. I agree that pointing down means there's something in the road to be avoided.

Rowdy 07-20-19 06:34 AM

I agree with what has already been written. She was pointing to something on the ground. I don't tap my thigh but I point to the ground and shake my hand trying to get the attention of riders behind me if I spot something on the ground.

Moe Zhoost 07-20-19 08:47 AM

Numb hand. After you passed she probably shook it a bit.

TakingMyTime 07-20-19 08:51 AM

Trying to get your attention?

gios 07-20-19 09:48 AM

I give up. Probably numb hands. I assumed she knew I was coming up by having a take-a-look mirror but didn't check / see it.

Last ride 76 07-20-19 10:09 AM

Originally Posted by gios (Post 21036090)
So I was passing a couple - guy in front and a woman behind him. As I was coming up on her left and passing, she did what I took to be a signal - tapped her left top of her thigh then pointed downward. I just rode by. Was she telling me I could pass on the left?

Asking for a massage?