Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Singlespeed & Fixed Gear (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=178)
-   -   Track Frames (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=750269)

eyeglasses 07-09-11 10:12 PM

Track Frames

I've been riding a mercier kilo TT for 7 or 8 months-ish and am considering about upgrading my frame (components have already been upgraded)

I'm just wondering what a higher quality frame entails when compared to a lower end. Is it just lighter/stronger? Or is there something else I'm missing?

hairnet 07-09-11 10:20 PM

looks by fancy tubing, paint, and drop outs

hamish5178 07-09-11 11:09 PM

Originally Posted by eyeglasses (Post 12905181)
I'm just wondering what a higher quality frame entails when compared to a lower end. Is it just lighter/stronger? Or is there something else I'm missing?

A nicer frame may be any of the following: lighter, heavier (some high end track frames are pretty heavy), stiffer, nicer looking, made from name-brand tubing, made of more expensive materials (carbon).

Mostly though, it's all about the stiffness.

tFUnK 07-10-11 01:07 AM

More responsive and maybe more aero.

cc700 07-10-11 01:31 AM

hamish is right: stiffer (if it's for the track) which results in better transfer of power to motion.

Kayce 07-10-11 01:48 PM

A track frame is different than a fixed/ss frame. Which are you looking for?

arp415 07-10-11 02:16 PM

These Are your best bet:

Www.mixiebike.com

Sherblock 07-10-11 02:38 PM

^ This is true.

toosahn 07-10-11 03:26 PM

I think the most important thing to consider when picking a frame (assuming it's not straight-gauge steel), is the geometry and fit. Just pick your preferred metal, steel or aluminum, then find the frame that suits your needs and fits you best.

Kayce 07-10-11 03:28 PM

A hi-ten bike that fits is is always the better choice over a carbon, ti, etc bike that doesnt.

toosahn 07-10-11 03:46 PM