Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Road Cycling (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   How do you feel about riding on the sidewalks? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=982273)

digaz 11-18-14 09:01 PM

How do you feel about riding on the sidewalks?

I know a road bike is meant to be ridden on the road, but there are certain times such as rush hour traffic that I'd feel so guilty slowing it down even further by sharing lanes with a bunch of frustrated commuters going and coming home from work. So with that in mind, is it okay to ride on the sidewalk?

bengreen79 11-18-14 09:07 PM

:popcornHere we go again...

Abstractworld 11-18-14 09:09 PM

i ride on sidewalk only cuz i feel like road is dangerous and i dont wanna piss off drivers because bikes are slow
but then again, im a beginner biker

rjones28 11-18-14 09:13 PM

Originally Posted by digaz (Post 17319881)
I know a road bike is meant to be ridden on the road, but there are certain times such as rush hour traffic that I'd feel so guilty slowing it down even further by sharing lanes with a bunch of frustrated commuters going and coming home from work. So with that in mind, is it okay to ride on the sidewalk?

What about all of the frustrated pedestrians?

digaz 11-18-14 09:14 PM

Originally Posted by Abstractworld (Post 17319902)
i ride on sidewalk only cuz i feel like road is dangerous and i dont wanna piss off drivers because bikes are slow
but then again, im a beginner biker

Exactly how I feel. I just feel bad slowing down and holding up traffic. I'd love to ride on the road when they're no cars out, but that would be like 3am in the morning. I rather pedestrians be pissed off at me than car drivers. Plus there are a ton of people who ride mountain bikes on the sidewalks with no problems. Pedestrians don't care.

rjones28 11-18-14 09:22 PM