Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Bicycle Mechanics (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Replacing shifter cables with internal cable routing (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1157135)

maartendc 10-04-18 07:56 AM

Replacing shifter cables with internal cable routing

Hello all,

I'm looking for some advice on replacing shifter cables (Sram Force) on a BMC frame with internal cable routing, which I have never done before: I want to do it myself in order to learn how to service my entire bike.

1. Does it make sense to replace the shifter cables without also changing the housing? Or do you always replace both at the same time?
2. I am planning to use the method with a thin "cable liner" or "housing liner" to guide over my old cable, and then guide the new cable through the internal routing in the frame using this method: https://www.artscyclery.com/learning...tedcables.html
Planning to buy this liner for it: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...AVQ4OOHG&psc=1. Anyone know of a better method or liner?
3. Are you supposed to re-use the barrel adjusters at the ends of the cable housings? Or do you replace those?
4. Any other tips / tricks to look out for?

Thank you! :thumb:

Andrew R Stewart 10-04-18 08:31 AM

Sorry to hear that you have internal routing:)

1- As internal routing is a pain to deal with and that the casing does wear too I strongly replacing both at the same time.
2- The liner over the existing inner cable is the first method I go to. Only when it doesn't work would I have to use a more frustrating one.
3- Always have a barrel adjuster in a cable path. Unless they are damaged/rusted I would clean them up. lube the threading/spring and reuse.
4- Use SS inners. Use uncoated inners. Use new casing end caps. Do double check the adjustments and alignments of the ders after.

Andy

dsbrantjr 10-04-18 03:09 PM