Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Road Cycling (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   How long do I have to wait before US Postal Jersey becomes cool to wear? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=602832)

Tall Cool One 11-14-09 09:23 PM

How long do I have to wait before US Postal Jersey becomes cool to wear?

I must admit that I am a Lance Armstrong fan. I am what I am. How long do I have to wait before wearing a US Postal jersey is considered "vintage" and cool?

I am a rookie road cyclist and don't want to be a "posseur" or "Fred" unless I just can't help myself.

Flyinlow 11-14-09 09:29 PM

Who cares what people think! If you like it and it feels cool to wear who cares what the click elect thinks! You won't catch me dead in Spandex, cool or not!!

hammy56 11-14-09 09:30 PM

youre concerned about what BFers think? It may be too late for you...

Flatballer 11-14-09 09:30 PM

I think the rule is 15 years before a jersey becomes vintage.

It's only been 5, so you've got a while to wait.

tsohg 11-14-09 09:40 PM

I've seen a guy in the full kit a few times.

If it makes you happy, it can't be that baaaaaaaaaaaad.

grwoolf 11-14-09 09:43 PM

Originally Posted by Tall Cool One (Post 10031650)
don't want to be a "posseur" or "Fred" unless I just can't help myself.

You just described the vast majority of cyclists from what I can tell. Embrace it. If you like the jersey, wear it.

I wear high-vis stuff all the time, which I think is very Fredly (but less Poser), but it makes my wife happy because she worries about cars running me over. I could care less what others think about my attire.

tagaproject6 11-14-09 09:45 PM

Originally Posted by Tall Cool One (Post 10031650)
I must admit that I am a Lance Armstrong fan. I am what I am. How long do I have to wait before wearing a US Postal jersey is considered "vintage" and cool?