Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Road Cycling (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Pacing for Longer Rides (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1205473)

Metallifan33 06-22-20 02:53 PM

Pacing for Longer Rides

Hi All,
I'm just getting into doing some longer rides (between 2 and 3 hrs for me) and have just gotten into reading about FTP, pacing, etc (which is a good thing, because until recently, I just went as hard as I could for as long as I could).
Now that I've learned about FTP/FTHR, I've started experimenting with zone 2 rides. They just seem so slow (mostly because I'm, in fact, slow).
My question is, when you legends plan a 3 or 4 hour ride, how do you decide what pace you're going to go with? Do you just do zone 2 for all longer rides, or do you adjust... e.g. 75% for a 2 hr ride, 60% for a 3 hr ride, 55% for a 4 hr ride? (or some system that's similar)?
Or do you just ride by feel (so slowing down around hr 3 if you misjudged it etc.)
Thanks!

sfrider 06-22-20 03:05 PM

I just ride whatever feels effortless and easy. It won't be after a few hours, and your pace will drop off. The more you do it the less it droops over time and the further you can go. Your HR will also creep up over time, until you reach your limit where ANY effort makes it go ballistic.

woodcraft 06-22-20 03:11 PM

For a long ride, avoid "burning matches"- take it easy up the hills, don't get out of breath.

Riding slow just means more hours in the saddle (for given distance).

Remember to drink, eat, & get off the saddle regularly.

Ramp up distance, intensity, or both over time i.e. 2 hr ride, then increase to 2 1/2 hr s after two weeks,

or 2 hr ride, then two weeks later 2 hr ride at slightly harder pace or with more hills.

downtube42 06-22-20 03:26 PM

Originally Posted by Metallifan33 (Post 21547977)
Hi All,