Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Road Cycling (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Who has never bought a brand new, complete bike? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=175373)

531Aussie 02-20-06 11:49 AM

I've been riding for about 20 years, and I've never bought a complete bike, new or 2nd hand

I'm wondering if I'm in a minority

more than one box can be ticked

55/Rad 02-20-06 11:50 AM

Me.

GuitarWizard 02-20-06 11:53 AM

Is it drinking time out in Australia right now? Well....when isn't it....I guess a better question would be, is it late out in Australia right now?

I've only bought new bikes...

socalrider 02-20-06 11:55 AM

Never bought new, I have always been given bikes (when I was racing) or bought something used..

Phantoj 02-20-06 11:55 AM

Try reesponding to the other thread:

"Poll: who has never bought a brand new, complete bike?"

http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=175372

Which isn't a poll, either.

???

Edit: Wait... this one is the poll; the other one isn't.

Now I'm really confused!

ptempel 02-20-06 12:18 PM

I think the last time I had a new bike was when I was in grade school. After I got into cycling more seriously in high school, I usually wanted to build my own. Here's some of the ones I've ridden at some point:

Raleigh single speed
Schwinn 5spd banana seat
Mongoose BMX
Holdsworth (first real road bike)
Zullo Columbus Aero (little too flexy)
Guerciotti SLX road (one of my favorites)
Maza
Gios Columbus SL road
Cannondale 3.0 (perhaps a little too stiff)
* 2002 Lemond 853 frame with Shimano Utrgra group
* 2002 Wilier Triestina Alpe d'Huez with Campy Chorus group
* Cannondale MTB team Sobe one with SRAM and coda mix