Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Felt adventure series bikes (V85, V55) (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1065452)

sk1er18 05-27-16 05:12 AM

Felt adventure series bikes (V85, V55)

I'm new to gravel grinding. Have been riding a hand me down road bike for the past few months and have decided I want an adventure/gravel grinder.

Been looking at a lot of bikes, Trek Crossrip/Ridley X-trail/CAADX/Jamis Renegade/Felt V series/etc.

Spec & price wise I really like the Felt V55 and V85, and surprised to not find much discussion about them on forums. Reviews seem great....

Thoughts? Wondering if I'm missing something or if Felt isn't as popular in the road world?

kbobb1 05-29-16 05:34 PM

Hi - I'll chime in since no one else has - I've been looking at these gravel/adventure bikes for a month and the Felt v85 is at the top of my list as i'm looking for a rails/trails/ dirt road bike for rides up to 60 mi ( I try to stay away from hard top roads/cars). It fits me well, is comfortable and has a good component set for the money. I think the Giant revolt is good as is the Ridley but the GT grade, Specialized diverge and jamis renegade expat did not fit me as well or feel as comfortable so it's an individual thing and you just got to ride them. I don't know that much about bike brands but I think Felt is a well respected frame maker as is Jamis, just a matter of which one you like riding best. my only gripe about test rides is they all seem to be short/limited and what i really want to know is how is the bike going to feel after 25 miles, not jsut 15 or 20 minutes. I'd like to be able to rent them for a weekend and really wring them out.

good luck

sk1er18 05-29-16 06:24 PM

Thanks. I feel your frustration with test rides being short. I did ride a V85 for a bit at the LBS and wish they had a V55 there for me to throw a leg over.