Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Road Cycling (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Front-end instability (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1184820)

Bobf0074 10-01-19 09:21 AM

Front-end instability

I just bought a Electra Cruiser 7 , the front end to me seems very unstable is there anything I can do to improve that, I am new at this

alcjphil 10-01-19 01:42 PM

First thing I would do is to check tire inflation, both front and rear. Next, I would check headset adjustment. A too loose or too tight headset can make a bike difficult to control. Is this a new bike? The dealer should be able to check it over for you

berner 10-01-19 04:24 PM

When I first got my bike, I found it pulled to the left. After pondering this tendency for a while, I measured the alignment of the wheels using a string from front to back wheels. I found that they were misaligned. Further investigation showed that the front wheel dropouts were not inserted into the forks the same amount. The result of this was to throw the wheel out of plumb so that at the point of contact with the road, the wheel was a cm or so to the left. This was easily fixed by filing the dropout with a round file. The geometry of the wheel is such that if the axle is off by, say one mm, the wheel at the rim will be off by about four mm. It took longer to think about the problem than to fix it.

eduskator 10-01-19 05:05 PM

What do you mean unstable? Your post requires a little more details...

Improper inflation, loose headset, loose spokes, warped wheel, etc.

Bobf0074 10-01-19 05:14 PM

yes it's a new bike and I've been back to the dealer three times the first time the son of the owner told me that is not enough dirt in the bearings yet give it time the owner checked it out for the head being too loose it's okay and he finally told me that he thinks that I'm . Oversteering

big john 10-01-19 05:22 PM