Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Hybrid Bicycles (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=290)
-   -   Altus vs Deore in real life differences for beginners (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1225760)

egeryilmaz 03-13-21 02:26 PM

Altus vs Deore in real life differences for beginners

hi i'm new at bikes i have a hybrid(trekking) bike with almost full altus set it has 24 speed. i am going to upgrade it with altus-acera mixed hybrid(trekking-touring) 27 speed bike or same type full deore set 30 speed bike. but between them they have much difference with the price. what i want to ask will it really worth? if it is i can spend but i need to hear real life opinions from experienced riders. please help me i'm new at it. besides that i can't change constantly my bike it will stay with me for a long time.

thanks in advance for all your help.

dabac 03-13-21 02:36 PM

Originally Posted by egeryilmaz (Post 21965717)
hi i'm new at bikes i have a hybrid(trekking) bike with almost full altus set it has 24 speed. i am going to upgrade it with altus-acera mixed hybrid(trekking-touring) 27 speed bike or same type full deore set 30 speed bike. but between them they have much difference with the price. what i want to ask will it really worth? if it is i can spend but i need to hear real life opinions from experienced riders. please help me i'm new at it. besides that i can't change constantly my bike it will stay with me for a long time.

thanks in advance for all your help.

IMO, there’s not enough difference to be worth doing that change solely for the purpose of upgrading. 3x8 should let you find a cassette that gives you a useful range/ratio combo w/o further upgrades.
However, if things are worn, it’s not entirely financially stupid to replace-with-better.
I’m not sure I’d want to go to 3x10 though.
10-speed stuff wear out noticeably faster.