Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Training & Nutrition (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   Percentage of body fat or BMI? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=130615)

RhumbRunner 08-15-05 09:57 AM

Percentage of body fat or BMI?

Anyone here care about Body Mass Index? It simply is your weight divided by your height in inches with no allowance for whether you are a 240# weakling with the jaw as the major muscle group or a mass of bulging muscles from weight lifting. I pretty much dismissed it when I first heard about it.

I was surfing some sites this morning and come across this (very simple) calculator for %BF: http://www.he.net/~zone/prothd2.html

I realize that nothing is "one rule for all simple". That goes for everything from nutrition, to heart rate and cadence, and why we ride in the first place. I started riding years ago for weight control and it's become apparent, after a few years off, that I MUST start again, heavy duty!! :eek:

How important is overall fitness (cardiovascular and major muscle groups), nutrition and body condition image to you?

Rhumb

simplyred 08-15-05 10:02 AM

Originally Posted by RhumbRunner
Anyone here care about Body Mass Index?

How important is overall fitness (cardiovascular and major muscle groups), nutrition and body condition image to you?

Rhumb

BMI? Nope.. Mine would be low.. I'm 147 lbs @ 5'9
Overall fitness - very.
Numbers I worry about - My aerobic gear, my heart rate when resting/aerobic/anerobic, wattage.
The rest I could care less - speed, cadence, gradient, BMI, body fat, etc...

Just ride & everything will fix itself...

Happy Riding
-Peter

DXchulo 08-15-05 10:04 AM