Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Road Cycling (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   SRAM Force? (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=457845)

dagna 08-24-08 04:22 PM

SRAM Force?

I have the opportunity to get a SRAM Force group, minus the brakes, from the manufacturer as part of a team deal. I ride a 2005 Trek 2100 with mostly 105 components. I'm not good at wrenching, but my LBS says they can switch the components on my bike for around $100. The group would cost me about $600. As a pretty much recreational rider who averages 75 miles a week, is it worth it to upgrade my 105 to SRAM Force?

Dubbayoo 08-24-08 04:28 PM

If the group has 4,000-5,000 miles on it, maybe.

enjoi07 08-24-08 04:28 PM

eh...id say not if you can't swich em yourself....08 force goes for $900 on ebay right now...so $600 is a good deal....but$100 for someone else to have the fun of puting the group on.... Just learn how to switch out the group yourself...you get to know every inch of your bike, how it works, and if you dont feel something is right at the end take it in for tune up wich wont cost $100.

Medpilot 08-24-08 06:47 PM

Force over 105? In a heartbeat! And switching it out yourself is not as hard as you might think.

ShadowGray 08-24-08 06:55 PM

Have you upgraded the wheels yet? Wheels before components..

Dubbayoo 08-24-08 07:20 PM

Originally Posted by enjoi07 (Post 7334102)
eh...id say not if you can't swich em yourself....08 force goes for $900 on ebay right now...so $600 is a good deal....but$100 for someone else to have the fun of puting the group on.... Just learn how to switch out the group yourself...you get to know every inch of your bike, how it works, and if you dont feel something is right at the end take it in for tune up wich wont cost $100.

the tools will cost that.

BarracksSi 08-24-08 07:23 PM

Originally Posted by ShadowGray (Post 7334920)
Have you upgraded the wheels yet? Wheels before components..