Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Bicycle Mechanics (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Can a pedal be un-removable? Schwinn Letour 3 (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1198330)

Arthur Peabody 04-15-20 04:39 PM

Can a pedal be un-removable? Schwinn Letour 3

I tried to help a neighbor who had broken a pedal on his Schwinn Letour 3 (it appears to be a very cheap bicycle). It was broken where the axle enters the pedal. I put my biggest wrench, a 12-incher, on it. Neither of us could make it budge. It's an alloy crank. The pedal looks to be screwed into the crank arm. I've been replacing my own pedals for 50 years, so I know how to do it.

Unca_Sam 04-15-20 04:48 PM

Originally Posted by Arthur Peabody (Post 21420335)
I tried to help a neighbor who had broken a pedal on his Schwinn Letour 3 (it appears to be a very cheap bicycle). It was broken where the axle enters the pedal. I put my biggest wrench, a 12-incher, on it. Neither of us could make it budge. It's an alloy crank. The pedal looks to be screwed into the crank arm. I've been replacing my own pedals for 50 years, so I know how to do it.

And you're certain you didn't have the LH crank and were tightening it?
Heat it a little with a torch to break it free.

Trevtassie 04-15-20 04:57 PM

Originally Posted by Unca_Sam (Post 21420356)
And you're certain you didn't have the LH crank and were tightening it?
Heat it a little with a torch to break it free.

Even better, heat it with a heat gun and spray some Loctite Freeze and Release spray on the back side where the other end is. As it cools the release lube will get sucked into the thread.

dsbrantjr 04-15-20 05:05 PM

Before you do the heat/cold treatments, spray some Kano Kroil or PB Blaster on liberally, tap the end of the pedal axle with a hammer to get it started soaking in, and wait overnight or longer for it to do its magic.