Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Tire Pressure for Clement 35 USH (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1171540)

hexron 04-26-19 06:30 PM

Tire Pressure for Clement 35 USH

Anyone have these tires? Tried them for the first time - and hit a patch of really bad gravel and flatted after about 2mi (and got a pin chunk taken out of my rim). I'm thinking for tubulars I had them too low. These are the 120tpi I believe.

I'm starting to wonder if trying to turn my road bike into a gravel bike for one race is worth it. Now I have to replace a rear rim.

DrIsotope 04-26-19 07:57 PM

Tubed? Tubeless? Rim width? How much do you weigh?

I've successfully run 700x35 Hutchinson Overides (tubeless) @ 45psi, and I'm north of 200lbs.

hexron 04-28-19 08:54 AM

Tubed. 23m H+SON Archetype. 225lbs. I'm new to gravel and wanted to ride a big gravel race with friends - so trying to convert my roadie into gravel for a short time. I'm starting to understand tubeless - but I didn't want to invest in a gravel bike/disc wheels/tubeless until I'm sure I enjoy gravel --> which is maybe not the best decision --> cause without bigger tubeless tires I'm wondering if I really can enjoy it. I've done two gravel rides now and they haven't been very enjoyable. I dig the scenery and being out in the middle of nowhere - but don't enjoy so much the tension/stress of constantly trying to avoid stupid stuff - especially sand.

chas58 04-29-19 09:47 AM

55-80 tubed, 40-60 tubeless.

Gravel is more fun tubeless - with wider tires and lower pressure and a bike that is designed to be a little compliant. I've done gravel on a road bike, and while it is doable - some sections (like chunky gravel or washboard) can be a nightmare.

Maybe try it on a mountain bike, and/or rent something from your local LBS (they often have demo bikes).