Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Hybrid Bicycles (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=290)
-   -   Clip-ON pedals question (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1152627)

grayslaker 08-14-18 03:10 PM

Clip-ON pedals question

It is a two part question!!

1) Thinking about getting clip-on's for my Trek FX Sport 4. What kind of pedals and shoes folks here recommend?
2) I am new to clip on's. Is it safe? Is it easy to get foot out of the pedal at stops or during emergency?

Sorry #2 is a noob question. Is it a potential safety risk?

bogydave 08-14-18 04:39 PM

I got the dual sided pedal / SPD clip on one side, flat on the other
Shimano 530 I think.

Shoes,, best to try on for a good fit.
I like my Shimano shoes, but my preference came with "they fit real well"

Safe, yes
Takes some training your brain to remember you always have to unclip, one side to touch the ground before stopping.
It's a " self teacher"...... fall over a few times, you learn, as most of us did.

https://www.bikeforums.net/20504706-post34.html

NYMXer 08-14-18 05:14 PM

If you get the SPD's, you will find that walking around in the shoes much easier. Also, the shoes have cleats built into the bottoms to make them less slippery when walking.
As bogydave suggested, if the have the clips on one side and plan pedal on the other, you don't always need your shoes to ride, very handy.
You can also adjust how much effort it takes to unclip from the pedals, making the learning curve a bit easier.

talphie 08-14-18 07:11 PM

Originally Posted by NYMXer (Post 20506726)
If you get the SPD's, you will find that walking around in the shoes much easier. Also, the shoes have cleats built into the bottoms to make them less slippery when walking.
As bogydave suggested, if the have the clips on one side and plan pedal on the other, you don't always need your shoes to ride, very handy.