Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Road Cycling (https://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   New Helmet time (https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=1156344)

Shuffleman 09-24-18 07:16 PM

New Helmet time

It's new helmet time for me. My options for trying them on are limited. I'm looking at the Poc Octal AVIP MIPS, Giro Synthe and Kask Protone or Valegro. I'm looking for light weight and good ventilation as I live in Florida. Smith is also an option. Any advice or thoughts?

JohnDThompson 09-24-18 07:58 PM

MIPS is a good thing. The POC looks to be well-ventilated as well, but I have no personal experience with it.

DrIsotope 09-24-18 08:03 PM

Things I will not buy without trying them on: cycling helmets, and cycling shoes.

When I cracked my Smith, I went to the LBS and tried on every single helmet they had in my size. Bought the one that fit the best.

On my odd noggin, the fit of all of the POC helmets is... undesirable. Kask was the winner. The new Oakleys are nice. Came out too late, as I had already bought the Kask.

GlennR 09-24-18 08:06 PM

I have a Giro Synthe MIPS. I crashed at 16mph 3 weeks after getting it. Cracked the helmet and Giro gave me 50% off on a replacement,

People's heads are different shapes, so get one that fits.

Dopefish905 09-24-18 08:20 PM

Love my synthe, might be a bit “outdated” but I’ve had it for 3 years and when the times comes I’ll probbly look for another to replace it. Wicked comfortable aero and ventilated.

tagaproject6 09-24-18 09:45 PM

POC fits a bit small, well ventilated, heavier (15 gms) than advertised. Kask Protone is really well ventilated and light, size is true to measurement 1-2 grams heavier than advertised . Giro Synthe fits a little big weight is 1-2 gms as advertized. Specialized Evade, true to size. 1-2 gms as advertised, exceptional ventilation over the others that I own above and the lightest. That's my noggin, I don't know how it will fit yours.