Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Clipless or cage pedals?

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Clipless or cage pedals?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-16, 04:10 AM
Awesomeman0524

Bikes: Solar aluminum racing

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Clipless or cage pedals?

HI all,
Recently my mom bought me a new road bike with drop bars for me to ride around and work out in the process. Currently i am riding with sneakers. But as I am getting better I started riding faster, Which my feet ended up slipping off my cheapo plastic pedals. I am also getting pretty tired when my shoes bend. However, I don't know which pedals to buy. I can either buy some nice double sided clipless pedals with cage on one side and clipless on another side, or a metal cage pedals with mtb shoes.
Of course, the second combination is around 20$ cheaper, but i feel like the first combination will be cheaper in the long run. But here's another issue. I am not riding on carriageways. So i don't know if clipless is necessary. Also, as a commuter, I will constantly get on and off the bike. So road bike shoes with cleats may not be comfortable to walk in. Advices? Thanks!
p.s. I will be buying b twin shoes online. It is embarrassing for me to walk in to a bike shop because I am overweight.
Old 05-10-16, 05:37 AM
mrodgers

Bikes: 2014 Giant Escape 1

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 20 Posts