Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Garmin 130 vs 830/1030

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Garmin 130 vs 830/1030

Old 05-22-20, 02:57 PM
  #1  
sean.hwy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: San Jose
Posts: 197

Bikes: Topstone AL 105 / SystemSix Carbon Ultegra

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 43 Times in 31 Posts
Garmin 130 vs 830/1030

I am currently using my garmin fenix 5 watch with my power pedals. I have been wanting to upgrade to computer. REI has sale Edge 130 GPS Bike Computer & Varia RTL510 Radar 2 Taillight together for $249.99.

Anyone upgrade from from 130 to 830/1030 and are so much happier ? I am fine with the maps on my phone. 99.9999% I don't use my maps. I guess that might change
when shelter in place is lifted and try a group ride some day.

https://www.rei.com/s/garmin-varia-and-edge

sean.hwy is offline  
Old 05-22-20, 02:59 PM
  #2  
wgscott
Occam's Rotor
 
wgscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6,017
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2366 Post(s)
Liked 1,165 Times in 603 Posts
I have the 130 and the first gen radar and am quite happy with both. (You can always get maps on your phone if you ever need them.)

I've seen the 130 on sale for $150, so between that and a price reduction on the gen 2 radar, it might be possible to get a better price.
wgscott is offline  
Likes For wgscott:
Old 05-22-20, 06:16 PM
  #3  
aspalmat
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 11 Times in 6 Posts
I had the Edge 130 and radar, then upgraded to the Edge 830.

The 130 worked fine for me. Worked fine with the radar, and fine with the routes I created on Garmin connect.

But, the 830 is just in another league. Over the 130 it has: touchscreen, color screen, larger screen, real GPS maps etc. I just had the “Climb Pro” feature pop up on my last ride, that’s very cool. Strava live segments, and the ist goes on. It is simply a much nicer computer. And the price shows it.

I really appreciate the reminder to drink. Helps me to keep up with drinking.

Does the 130 work fine, absolutely. But the 830 is just much nicer. It’s like the difference between a Chevy and a Cadillac. They both get you where you want to go, one is much nicer though.

it just comes down to if the extra features are worth the money to you. Only you can decide. I’m happy with the upgrade. If I had to make the decision again, iI’d get the 830 in an instant.
aspalmat is offline  
Likes For aspalmat:
Old 05-23-20, 08:01 AM
  #4  
Iride01
Senior Member
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 3,515

Bikes: '20 Tarmac Disc Comp '91 Schwinn Paramount '78 Raleigh Competition GS

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1314 Post(s)
Liked 311 Times in 240 Posts
Make sure the edge 130 does everything you want or think you will want in the near future. There are some things it doesn't handle at all and some it doesn't do as well or give as much info about.

If all you want is something that will track your ride, then it'll do that. However some of the power meter functions while riding and some other sensor stuff won't be available or quite as well presented on the 130 as it will on the 530, 830 or 1030.

You can compare devices on the Garmin site, but they make you push a button in order to make the compare boxes show.
Iride01 is offline  
Likes For Iride01:
Old 05-23-20, 08:50 AM
  #5  
sdmc530
Heft On Wheels
 
sdmc530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,662

Bikes: Specialized,Cannondale,Argon 18

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked 283 Times in 211 Posts
I went from the 520 to the 1030, never going back now. The 1030 is an amazing computer for everything I could ever need. Size was my biggest motivation, can't see little screens anymore. 520 was a good unit but always wanted the 1030.
sdmc530 is offline  
Likes For sdmc530:
Old 05-23-20, 10:20 AM
  #6  
JustinOldPhart
Junior Samples
 
JustinOldPhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 83

Bikes: '74 Eisentraut, '94 Univega Alpina Pro, KLR650, R1200RT

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked 52 Times in 26 Posts
I have the 130 and the RTL510. My choice of the 130 was based upon my knowledge that I will never do power meter, heart rate monitor, cadence, or any other sensor-based stuff beyond the RTL (not that the 130 is incapable of these things). I don't care about color or touch screen and don't want or need routable maps. I just wanted a computer that could track my rides, had programmable screens, and could transfer my data to someplace else. For all that, the 130 was the right choice for me. In fact, it does a fair bit more than I was looking for.

sdmc530, I couldn't see small screens, either. I added Hydrotac +2.50 stick-on bifocals to my riding glasses. Bazinga.
JustinOldPhart is offline  
Likes For JustinOldPhart:
Old 05-23-20, 11:06 AM
  #7  
Iride01
Senior Member
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 3,515

Bikes: '20 Tarmac Disc Comp '91 Schwinn Paramount '78 Raleigh Competition GS

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1314 Post(s)
Liked 311 Times in 240 Posts
Paying the premium for a 1030 just so you don't have to wear bifocals is a little much for me too. But if you do, I don't care, it's your choice. I've always used tinted safety glasses with bifocals built in. They are very inexpensive and easy to find online. Locally, no.

I also like the display on my edge 500 being monochromatic. No matter what sun or shadow I'm in, I can almost always see it without back lighting that sucks battery. I still like the small size of my device too, just looks nicer and less cluttered. But that's just for me since my handle bars are with me for the entire ride. If I see your bars, I doubt I'd notice. If I did, I'd forget soon after.
Iride01 is offline  
Likes For Iride01:
Old 05-23-20, 11:16 AM
  #8  
sdmc530
Heft On Wheels
 
sdmc530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,662

Bikes: Specialized,Cannondale,Argon 18

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked 283 Times in 211 Posts
Originally Posted by Iride01 View Post
Paying the premium for a 1030 just so you don't have to wear bifocals is a little much for me too. But if you do, I don't care, it's your choice. I've always used tinted safety glasses with bifocals built in. They are very inexpensive and easy to find online. Locally, no.
LOL.....I am already wearing bifocals! Actually it was more of the fact when I look down I want a quick view of what I am wanting to see then eyes back up.....I like it and yeah, I get the price for the 1030 is steep. Its only money
sdmc530 is offline  
Old 05-23-20, 11:17 AM
  #9  
sdmc530
Heft On Wheels
 
sdmc530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,662

Bikes: Specialized,Cannondale,Argon 18

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked 283 Times in 211 Posts
Originally Posted by JustinOldPhart View Post
I have the 130 and the RTL510. My choice of the 130 was based upon my knowledge that I will never do power meter, heart rate monitor, cadence, or any other sensor-based stuff beyond the RTL (not that the 130 is incapable of these things). I don't care about color or touch screen and don't want or need routable maps. I just wanted a computer that could track my rides, had programmable screens, and could transfer my data to someplace else. For all that, the 130 was the right choice for me. In fact, it does a fair bit more than I was looking for.

sdmc530, I couldn't see small screens, either. I added Hydrotac +2.50 stick-on bifocals to my riding glasses. Bazinga.

I have Oakley sunglasses with bifocals already....getting olderer sucks
sdmc530 is offline  
Old 05-23-20, 11:25 AM
  #10  
JustinOldPhart
Junior Samples
 
JustinOldPhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 83

Bikes: '74 Eisentraut, '94 Univega Alpina Pro, KLR650, R1200RT

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked 52 Times in 26 Posts
sdmc530, I'm not trying to belabor the point; I add this in case others might find some utility in it. I have glasses with bifocals, too. What I found was that the reading prescription in the bifocals was inadequate for a quick glance at the cycle computer. A jump up to +2.50 worked well for me. I also found that I could trim them down quite a bit and place them in towards the nose piece (in what a proper optician would likely insist would be 'cross-eyed') and they worked very comfortably.

Getting olderer does suck.
JustinOldPhart is offline  
Likes For JustinOldPhart:
Old 05-23-20, 11:59 AM
  #11  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 21,119
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11829 Post(s)
Liked 3,138 Times in 1,770 Posts
Originally Posted by sean.hwy View Post
I am currently using my garmin fenix 5 watch with my power pedals. I have been wanting to upgrade to computer. REI has sale Edge 130 GPS Bike Computer & Varia RTL510 Radar 2 Taillight together for $249.99.

Anyone upgrade from from 130 to 830/1030 and are so much happier ? I am fine with the maps on my phone. 99.9999% I don't use my maps. I guess that might change
when shelter in place is lifted and try a group ride some day.

https://www.rei.com/s/garmin-varia-and-edge
​​​​​​Do you plan to continue recording with your F5 and only idea the Edge as a display for the radar, or do you want to transfer recording duty? There are some Firstbeat features in your watch the 130 won't have. Don't know if that's important to you, look at the details if so.

REI has a generous return policy.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 05-23-20, 12:21 PM
  #12  
Iride01
Senior Member
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 3,515

Bikes: '20 Tarmac Disc Comp '91 Schwinn Paramount '78 Raleigh Competition GS

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1314 Post(s)
Liked 311 Times in 240 Posts
Originally Posted by sdmc530 View Post
....getting olderer sucks
It sure does!

What happened to those golden years we used to hear them described as when we were younger???
Iride01 is offline  
Likes For Iride01:
Old 05-23-20, 05:04 PM
  #13  
sean.hwy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: San Jose
Posts: 197

Bikes: Topstone AL 105 / SystemSix Carbon Ultegra

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 43 Times in 31 Posts
Originally Posted by Seattle Forrest View Post
​​​​​​Do you plan to continue recording with your F5 and only idea the Edge as a display for the radar, or do you want to transfer recording duty? There are some Firstbeat features in your watch the 130 won't have. Don't know if that's important to you, look at the details if so.

REI has a generous return policy.
Sounds like the 130 is not going to work for me.

I would like the computer to replace my watch for recording and displaying in real time. Currently I have no need for maps. I either know where I am going or just use my phone.
It's kind of pain to see my watch when I am going fast and eyes start water up. With your hands on the drop bar or hoods you can not see the watch at all.


You probably could have passed me
if you walked fast. Runner/jogger would have crushed me up this hill.

Here it was easy to see because I was in first gear going up a hill and my hands are on the flat part of the handle bar, not sure what you call it.

sean.hwy is offline  
Likes For sean.hwy:
Old 05-23-20, 05:36 PM
  #14  
sean.hwy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: San Jose
Posts: 197

Bikes: Topstone AL 105 / SystemSix Carbon Ultegra

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 43 Times in 31 Posts
I guess I will look into the 1030 ( another old guy with not such great eye site ). I can either have my glasses on see the road at night and high speed but not see my watch or take my glasses off and see my watch and most speeds under 20 mph in the day light is no problem.
sean.hwy is offline  
Likes For sean.hwy:
Old 05-23-20, 05:55 PM
  #15  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 4,315

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1589 Post(s)
Liked 302 Times in 213 Posts
Also consider a Wahoo Bolt. Easy to read screen that can be zoomed to increase text size. Can connect to most power units. Clever Training has it at $230 and there’s maybe a $30 coupon.

https://www.clevertraining.com/wahoo...cling-computer
Steve B. is online now  
Old 05-23-20, 10:17 PM
  #16  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 21,119
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11829 Post(s)
Liked 3,138 Times in 1,770 Posts
It sounds like @sean.hwy is probably invested enough in the Garmin ecosystem and feature set that changing to Wahoo could be painful.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Likes For Seattle Forrest:
Old 05-24-20, 05:34 AM
  #17  
sdmc530
Heft On Wheels
 
sdmc530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,662

Bikes: Specialized,Cannondale,Argon 18

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked 283 Times in 211 Posts
Originally Posted by Seattle Forrest View Post
It sounds like @sean.hwy is probably invested enough in the Garmin ecosystem and feature set that changing to Wahoo could be painful.
Yeah, I had considered trying the Wahoo a while back when it came out, but with a Garmin watch, HL and my wife and son already having Garmin watches it was not worth the effort to have a two family system!

Garmin works, I like the Connect system too. I just wish they would get off their duffs and make it so different people can use one account instead of logging in for different people. My son uses Garmin Jr. so that is not a big deal but the wife's stuff and my stuff have to be separated…..ANNOYING GARMIN!!
sdmc530 is offline  
Likes For sdmc530:
Old 05-24-20, 05:35 AM
  #18  
sdmc530
Heft On Wheels
 
sdmc530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,662

Bikes: Specialized,Cannondale,Argon 18

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked 283 Times in 211 Posts
Originally Posted by JustinOldPhart View Post
sdmc530, I'm not trying to belabor the point; I add this in case others might find some utility in it. I have glasses with bifocals, too. What I found was that the reading prescription in the bifocals was inadequate for a quick glance at the cycle computer. A jump up to +2.50 worked well for me. I also found that I could trim them down quite a bit and place them in towards the nose piece (in what a proper optician would likely insist would be 'cross-eyed') and they worked very comfortably.

Getting olderer does suck.
I might have to try this once again. When I did this I always got a headache so I gave up quickly. I might have to give it another go and play with the strengths.
sdmc530 is offline  
Old 05-24-20, 05:50 AM
  #19  
njkayaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11,495
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2100 Post(s)
Liked 152 Times in 106 Posts
Originally Posted by sdmc530 View Post
I just wish they would get off their duffs and make it so different people can use one account instead of logging in for different people. My son uses Garmin Jr. so that is not a big deal but the wife's stuff and my stuff have to be separated…..ANNOYING GARMIN!!
It's not likely that they will ever do this.

The number of people having problems with sharing accounts would likely be much larger than the number it would work for.

​​​​​​
njkayaker is online now  
Likes For njkayaker:
Old 05-24-20, 06:29 AM
  #20  
sdmc530
Heft On Wheels
 
sdmc530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,662

Bikes: Specialized,Cannondale,Argon 18

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 711 Post(s)
Liked 283 Times in 211 Posts
Originally Posted by njkayaker View Post
It's not likely that they will ever do this.

The number of people having problems with sharing accounts would likely be much larger than the number it would work for.

​​​​​​
thanks for crushing my dreams!!!

I know its unlikely to happen, but a fella can dream. Seriously short of this change Garmin Connect is great IMO.
sdmc530 is offline  
Old 05-24-20, 01:48 PM
  #21  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 4,315

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1589 Post(s)
Liked 302 Times in 213 Posts
Originally Posted by Seattle Forrest View Post
It sounds like @sean.hwy is probably invested enough in the Garmin ecosystem and feature set that changing to Wahoo could be painful.
How so ?, all he’s got is a Fenix that isn’t doing what he wants. Matters not if he gets a Garmin or Wahoo.
Steve B. is online now  
Old 05-24-20, 04:22 PM
  #22  
sfrider 
Asleep at the bars
 
sfrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,444
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked 84 Times in 52 Posts
I just got an Edge 530. It's more or less the same as the 830, except it doesn't have a touch screen and won't do any of the typing related functions like route-by-address. Basically because it doesn't have a pop-up touch keyboard to type with. There may be a few other touch specific functions or shortcuts lacking.

But the 530 has BUTTONS. Have you ever tried to operate a touch screen while cycling? I'll take buttons. If I'm going to stop I might as well use my phone.

I'm getting it because my Wahoo Elemnt will only do cycling dynamics with Panasonic 4iiii PMs, can't control my Varia radar and doesn't have bike profiles. I could live without one or two of those, but taken together I think it's time to go back to Garmin. The Elemnt screen is still superb though. And it uses buttons. Just a bit crippled functionally.
sfrider is offline  
Old 05-24-20, 06:36 PM
  #23  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 4,315

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1589 Post(s)
Liked 302 Times in 213 Posts
Originally Posted by sfrider View Post
I

But the 530 has BUTTONS. Have you ever tried to operate a touch screen while cycling? I'll take buttons. If I'm going to stop I might as well use my phone.
.
I use a touch screen every ride on a 1030, so this is just nonsense. Have you ever tried zooming or panning a map with buttons ?, you can't.
Steve B. is online now  
Likes For Steve B.:
Old 05-24-20, 09:38 PM
  #24  
sfrider 
Asleep at the bars
 
sfrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,444
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked 84 Times in 52 Posts
Originally Posted by Steve B. View Post
I use a touch screen every ride on a 1030, so this is just nonsense. Have you ever tried zooming or panning a map with buttons ?, you can't.
Don't know how they zoom or pan. Presumably there are + and - buttons? On the Elemnt you zoom with the two buttons on the right side.
sfrider is offline  
Old 05-24-20, 11:20 PM
  #25  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 21,119
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11829 Post(s)
Liked 3,138 Times in 1,770 Posts
Originally Posted by sdmc530 View Post
Garmin works, I like the Connect system too. I just wish they would get off their duffs and make it so different people can use one account instead of logging in for different people. My son uses Garmin Jr. so that is not a big deal but the wife's stuff and my stuff have to be separated…..ANNOYING GARMIN!!
You each sync your data through your phones, right? It's looking at the data on the PC that's a problem? If I'm understanding that right, try using a different browser than your wife to look at your ride etc data. You don't have to switch for everything, but if you use Firefox and she uses Chrome, it'll keep you both logged in.
Seattle Forrest is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.