Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

I'm feeling sleepy and have headaches after rides. What am I doing wrong?

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-17, 12:04 PM
RadS

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Sport is supposed to make you feel energetic, right? That's not the case with me.

I'm a 25 y.o. male, BMI is in normal range, I've been cycling regularly for 6 years. So far I've cycled 2500km this year and two of my personal achievements this year are cycling 190km in a single day and 100km at 27kmph average (on a hybrid bike). So I think I'm fit enough.

Yet, for some reason, after most bike rides I feel tired and sleepy and have a slight headache. This lasts for a few hours. Basically, I need to assume that cycling in the morning will leave me unproductive until late afternoon

Most of my rides are 2-3h at as high a pace as I can sustain for that long, usually averaging 70-80% HRmax. I try to drink one 700ml bottle per hour (iso tabs or homemade iso drink). On rides longer than 1h, I'd usually eat a 200-300kcal snack each hour after the first one. I drink about two glasses of water and eat some bread/fruit/yogurt after each ride.

I found that this effect is less noticeable and burdensome:
  • after light-pace, short rides (1h at HR zone 1-2)
  • when I stick to my 700ml/hour iso drink plan (as opposed to taking water only or underestimating how long the ride will take). However, drinking this amount doesn't guarantee feeling well after the ride, it just reduces negative effects.

Do you have any advice or ideas how to reduce this effect? What am I doing wrong?
Old 07-12-17, 12:43 PM
Carbonfiberboy 
just another gosling