Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Altimeter cyclecomp/GPS?

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Altimeter cyclecomp/GPS?

Old 03-16-19, 06:14 PM
pakossa

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Altimeter cyclecomp/GPS?

A while back I had a few watches that had an altimeter in them. Not 100% accurate, of course, but gave me a good idea of the climbing I did. One of them lasted less than 2 months, so I'm not bothering with those anymore. The cyclecomputers on a couple of my bikes just went, so I'm thinking about getting something with an altimeter. Not sure I want a pure GPS device, as I'm no techie. (Do those things have the usual ave. speed/ride time/distance functions?) I'm not interested in paring it with a smartphone, as I know I'll have all sorts of problems getting it to work. Are there any simple to use cyclecomps with an altimeter?
Old 03-17-19, 06:33 AM
njkayaker

Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Quoted: 4221 Post(s)
Liked 1,321 Times in 916 Posts
I have a Bontrager Node 2 that has a barometric altimeter.

It's expensive for a cycle computer but I like it.

I don't know if the current Bontrager computers have barometers.
Old 03-17-19, 05:02 PM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Quoted: 6099 Post(s)
Liked 4,731 Times in 3,261 Posts
Most of the Garmin Edges from the 520 up have barometric altimeters. I'd think most other manufacturers of cycling computers/gps intended for cyclist wanting metrics data will have models with barometric sensors too.

They aren't 100% either. But they give some useful data when it's all taken relative to a bunch of rides.
Old 03-17-19, 05:14 PM
Steve B.

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel, Specialized Epic Evo