Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Wheel upgrade recommendation

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-11, 12:29 PM
DoublePepperoni

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi all, I posted this question on cyclingforums.com without a reply, so I'm trying my luck here...

Hello, I'm a newbie cyclist converted from running some months ago. I bought an entry level road bike and have been riding it everyday and have seen some good improvements since starting out. A friend of mine tells me that the frame is fairly decent but that its about time I upgraded the wheels. The bike I currently ride is a Cannondale Caad 8.6 with Maddux R3.0 wheels and I paid around $1200 for it. If anyone has any recommendations or even any opinions on wheels in general, I would love to hear them. Thanks all in advance.
Old 09-07-11, 12:33 PM
datlas 
Should Be More Popular

Bikes: 1986 Alpine (steel road bike), 2009 Ti Habenero, 2013 Specialized Roubaix

Mentioned: 560 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22579 Post(s)
Liked 8,919 Times in 4,153 Posts
What's your budget and weight and riding style?

If on a major budget, look at offerings from Neuvation or Soul.

But we need more info to give better advice.
Old 09-07-11, 01:47 PM
Elvo

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked 369 Times in 206 Posts
Mavic Cosmic 80's are pretty cool
Old 09-07-11, 01:49 PM
joe_5700
CAT4

Bikes: 2009 Cervélo S1, 2009 Felt F75, 2010 Cannondale Synapse Carbon 5, 2011 Cannondale CAADx, 2011 Specialized Transition Elite

Quoted: 1 Post(s)