Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fitting Your Bike
Reload this Page >

A Tall Person's Conundrum

Search
Notices
Fitting Your Bike Are you confused about how you should fit a bike to your particular body dimensions? Have you been reading, found the terms Merxx or French Fit, and don’t know what you need? Every style of riding is different- in how you fit the bike to you, and the sizing of the bike itself. It’s more than just measuring your height, reach and inseam. With the help of Bike Fitting, you’ll be able to find the right fit for your frame size, style of riding, and your particular dimensions. Here ya’ go…..the location for everything fit related.

A Tall Person's Conundrum

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-18, 06:09 PM
GREEKSTER

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question A Tall Person's Conundrum

Greekings,

I am new to cycling and am looking for an all-around bike that I could use for multiple purposes (pleasure, commuting, possibly bike-packing?). About 6 years ago while I was in college, a friend invited me to bike from the Oregon-California border back to SoCal where we live. It was a "just for fun", spur-of-the-moment adventure. I bought the biggest touring bike I could find that fit my budget and we set off. The trip ended short for me due to excruciating knee pain which I believe resulted from too small a bike.

It has been a desire of mine to try cycling again, this time with a little more research. My problem is that I can't seem to find any bike manufacturers that offer bicycles that would fit my tall frame. I have looked into a custom cycle, but cost is a big factor there. I would be willing to go this route if there are no other options.

Here's some of the more important details you probably want to know:

6 ft 7 in

245 lbs

Pubic Bone Height: 101.5

Trunk: 71.5 cm

Forearm: 39.37 cm

Arm: 78.105 cm

Thigh: 70.802 cm

Lower Leg: 62.484 cm

Sternal Notch: 165.1 cm

Total Body Height: 200.66 cm