Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Tips to Enjoy a Solo Tour

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-17, 11:24 AM
Jarrett2

Bikes: Steel 1x's

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

So I've been doing small tours with friends for a few years now. Just 4-day, 3-night, self supported, hotel to hotel type deals. At this phase of life, that's about as long as I can get away on a bike.

This year, I can't find anyone that has the time off/wants to go like we usually do, so it looks like its going to be my first solo tour. Due to this, I decided to stick to an area closer to home that I'm more familiar with. It's a decently scenic route, but nothing particularly sexy about it, especially the stopping point towns.

Since the area I am going to be touring won't be that exotic, I'm looking for tips to make a less interesting solo tour, more interesting. What are some things that you do when you're on a solo tour to fill the days and nights in less interesting areas?
Old 10-18-17, 11:32 AM
fietsbob
Banned

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Quoted: 7607 Post(s)
Liked 1,355 Times in 862 Posts
I, raised an only child, am used to doing stuff alone .. favorite Tours, I went out of the country, Europe, enjoyed the differences, drank with the locals..
Old 10-18-17, 11:40 AM
jefnvk

Bikes: 2016 Novara Mazama

Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Quoted: 3640 Post(s)
Liked 81 Times in 51 Posts
To be honest, both tours I've done I probably would have been happier solo than with folks. Finding things to do solo has never been an issue for me, compromising and doing things others want to do was always the bigger issue.