Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Newbie here

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Newbie here

Old 06-15-10, 12:26 PM
NesTea420

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Newbie here

Hello everyone!!

I recently picked up biking, and enjoy it a lot...I am in fairly good shape, and I would rather bike that run at this point of my life, mainly because of my knees...

I bought a Fuji Nevada 4.0...I like this bike a lot, I replaced the tire so that I can ride it on the road as well...but I want an actual road bike for road...something light and fast, and also something that looks good...I have about $800 to spare, what is a good bike for this price range, and what should I be looking for. I will be visiting the LBS soon...I want to go back to the place where I got the mtn bike from...I paid $250 for a new 2009 Nevada 4.0, is this a good price for this bike?
Old 06-15-10, 12:30 PM
Sapience

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
When I was looking for a road bike I had about the same budget.

I bought used components off of ebay (Ultegra 6500, there was a great deal I found), but a brand new frame/saddle/etc.

I only spent $600-$700 on the bike, and I couldn't be happier. All I can say is DO NOT BUY A FULL BIKE RETAIL or you will get ripped off
Old 06-15-10, 12:59 PM
Menel

Bikes: Helix, HonkyTonk, NailTrail

Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Buying a new bike from an LBS can be a really good deal. Lifetime warranties, tune ups, relationship with techs, etc. Don't rule that out.