Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Wahoo Elemnt Bolt Turn by Turn Directions?

Notices
Road Cycling ďIt is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.Ē -- Ernest Hemingway

Wahoo Elemnt Bolt Turn by Turn Directions?

Old 07-01-20, 01:46 PM
  #1  
kosmo886
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Wahoo Elemnt Bolt Turn by Turn Directions?

I just got an Elemnt Bolt and uploaded a few routes from Strava. I can access them but they donít seem to be providing turn by turn directions. Is the only way to figure out the route to just look at the picture on the map on the screen? Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks!
kosmo886 is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 01:52 PM
  #2  
Plainsman
Senior Member
 
Plainsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Strava does not export turn by turn cues. This was the case back in 2017/2018 anyway. The Elemnt does not have those built in. If you use Kamoot or Ride with GPS (created from Scratch) it will work. You can't try to back door it though by putting the Strava file through Kamoot or Ride with GPS. This video from GP Lama helped me. If this has been updated and someone else knows the trick, I'm all ears too!

Plainsman is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 02:39 PM
  #3  
MidTNBrad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 276

Bikes: 2016 Cervelo R3 & 1999 Litespeed Tuscany

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked 39 Times in 26 Posts
This is one of the big reasons I'm moving away from Strava to RWGPS.
MidTNBrad is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 05:22 PM
  #4  
kosmo886
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Plainsman View Post
Strava does not export turn by turn cues. This was the case back in 2017/2018 anyway. The Elemnt does not have those built in. If you use Kamoot or Ride with GPS (created from Scratch) it will work. You can't try to back door it though by putting the Strava file through Kamoot or Ride with GPS. This video from GP Lama helped me. If this has been updated and someone else knows the trick, I'm all ears too!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccDMxcW1BuM
That seems like a big missed opportunity for Strava. All my friends are on Strava. Would this mean essentially running ride with GPS and Strava at the same time?
kosmo886 is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 05:30 PM
  #5  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 4,412

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1624 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 236 Posts
You can save completed rides to Strava but use RWGPS to create rides.
Steve B. is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 05:51 PM
  #6  
WhyFi
Senior Member
 
WhyFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: TC, MN
Posts: 30,016

Bikes: R3 Disc, Haanjo

Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13115 Post(s)
Liked 2,522 Times in 1,350 Posts
Originally Posted by kosmo886 View Post
That seems like a big missed opportunity for Strava. All my friends are on Strava. Would this mean essentially running ride with GPS and Strava at the same time?
No. I never run RwGPS on a ride. I simply create routes with RwGPS on the computer and have my Wahoo and RwGPS accounts linked; the created routes will migrate over to the Wahoo.
WhyFi is online now  
Old 07-01-20, 05:56 PM
  #7  
kosmo886
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by WhyFi View Post
No. I never run RwGPS on a ride. I simply create routes with RwGPS on the computer and have my Wahoo and RwGPS accounts linked; the created routes will migrate over to the Wahoo.
Got it. I just got my Wahoo so sorry for the basic questions! I just created a route on ride with GPS and linked to my Strava account and Wahoo. I will test shortly, but assume I just start the route on the Wahoo and should have everything all linked up and audible turn by turn directions. Is this the best way to do it? Thanks!
kosmo886 is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 06:45 PM
  #8  
kosmo886
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Steve B. View Post
You can save completed rides to Strava but use RWGPS to create rides.
Is it possible to set a start and end point (likely the same) and desired distance and have RWGPS set a random route to those parameters?
kosmo886 is offline  
Old 07-01-20, 06:49 PM
  #9  
WhyFi
Senior Member
 
WhyFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: TC, MN
Posts: 30,016

Bikes: R3 Disc, Haanjo

Mentioned: 336 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13115 Post(s)
Liked 2,522 Times in 1,350 Posts
Originally Posted by kosmo886 View Post
Got it. I just got my Wahoo so sorry for the basic questions! I just created a route on ride with GPS and linked to my Strava account and Wahoo. I will test shortly, but assume I just start the route on the Wahoo and should have everything all linked up and audible turn by turn directions. Is this the best way to do it? Thanks!
Yup. You can either select the route from your Wahoo or from the Wahoo Element companion app.

Oh, to be clear, though - it's not giving spoken turn instructions; it's beeping at you when a turn is approaching and giving you instructions (left/right, street name) on-screen.
WhyFi is online now  
Old 07-01-20, 07:00 PM
  #10  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 4,412

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1624 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 236 Posts
Only way I know to get an audible TBT is on a Garmin that is BT connected to a phone that you can connect headphones. I’ve heard of this, never done it. Maybe some of the smartphone GPS cycling apps can do this as well.
Steve B. is offline  
Old 07-02-20, 12:09 AM
  #11  
woodcraft
Senior Member
 
woodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 5,164
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 435 Times in 267 Posts
Originally Posted by kosmo886 View Post
Is it possible to set a start and end point (likely the same) and desired distance and have RWGPS set a random route to those parameters?

No, but it's possible to plot a route on RWGPS and have it make some pretty random jumps while you're working on it.
woodcraft is offline  
Old 07-02-20, 02:12 AM
  #12  
SurferCyclist
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Pembrokeshire, UK
Posts: 62

Bikes: Canyon Endurace CF 9.0 Di2, Cannondale CaaD 8, Diamondback MTB(ancient)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 53 Times in 16 Posts
Originally Posted by WhyFi View Post
No. I never run RwGPS on a ride. I simply create routes with RwGPS on the computer and have my Wahoo and RwGPS accounts linked; the created routes will migrate over to the Wahoo.
This. However bear in mind the navigation on the Bolt is not brilliant. If you miss a turn it'll tell you but won't redirect back onto route. I rarely use it for navigational purposes, if I ride somewhere completely new I find it helps to check over some OS maps etc and get a rough idea of area. Plus have phone with Google maps on if you'll really stuck.
SurferCyclist is offline  
Old 07-02-20, 07:11 AM
  #13  
kosmo886
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by WhyFi View Post
Yup. You can either select the route from your Wahoo or from the Wahoo Element companion app.

Oh, to be clear, though - it's not giving spoken turn instructions; it's beeping at you when a turn is approaching and giving you instructions (left/right, street name) on-screen.
Just took a ride using RWGPS route pushed to the Wahoo. Worked quite well. Syncing that to Strava was also smooth. Only outstanding question is if I can get Apple Watch HR data to the apps...
kosmo886 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.