Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Help: Defy Advanced 2 vs TCR Advanced 2: Which to choose?

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Old 09-01-15, 01:21 AM
cyclinggerrydee

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi all,

I'm a cycling newbie that ended up buying an 'entry' road bike this year, to see how much I could get into it since we have a toddler. Got a Norco Valence A4, now I want to sell it (or keep it for a winter bike) and get my 'real' bike.

Here are my choices: Defy Advanced 2 vs TCR Advanced 2.

I like speed but I also like endurance riding (100KMs+). For those that have ridden both the Defy Advanced and TCR Advanced, which bike did you buy and why? What are the major differences in 'sportive' geo vs race geo?

If I get the DA 2, can it still keep up with a TCR A2? Will riding for long hours on the TCR be 'less' comfortable than the Defy?

I like the fact the Defy has disc brakes standard now, and the new yellow highlighter scheme is bad ass vs the blue or black/red on the 2016 TCR.

Both bikes are $2149 CAD.

Which would you choose and why? Will be headed to my LBS for a fit and ride, but in the meantime would love your feedback, fellow Giant riders. TIA!

Attached Images
File Type: jpg
16_TCR_Advanced_2_Comp-Red.jpg (59.9 KB, 78 views)

Last edited by cyclinggerrydee; 09-01-15 at 01:24 AM. Reason: added images
Old 09-01-15, 01:27 AM
link0

Bikes: '11 Merlin Extralight, '98 Dean Castanza, '89 Schwinn Prologue

Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts