Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Best plan to prevent saddle sores on a tour

Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Old 12-08-12, 10:18 AM
gif4445

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix, Specialized Diverge, Volagi Liscio, LHT, Trek 1.2

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked 46 Times in 33 Posts

Cold outside, so thinking of summer and my next tour. I'm in my 3rd year of semi-serious riding. Have done some one week state rides and two shorter tours. On the tail end of my last tour ( https://www.crazyguyonabike.com/doc/..._id=11208&v=Fw ), I developed some sores. This was after a couple days of 110+ stretches. Background info. 55 year old male. Ride a Surly LHT. About 4000 miles in this year, so butt is fairly conditioned. Wear padded shorts, use the butt butter and have a Brooks B-17 saddle. I credit card tour, so laundry and showers are daily. The Black Hills tour was 2 weeks and the sores were like follicular in nature. I'm wondering if a preventative treatment of neosporin or triple antibiotic every couple days would be prudent? Or are we dealing with some infectious organisms other than bacteria? I have my eye on a coast to coast at some point in time. Next year will be further and longer, so I want to deal with this proactively. What has worked for you guys?
Old 12-08-12, 11:00 AM
bwgride
Slow Rider

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post