Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

What power meter(s) to use?

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

What power meter(s) to use?

Old 01-07-19, 12:30 PM
  #1  
OUGrad05
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
What power meter(s) to use?

I was able to get outside yesterday and ride a bit not on the trainer. I found myself really missing the power output. Once you have it I guess you want to keep it. I've begun looking at power options, I want something that measures both feet, not just one or the other. Some of the pedals look good because I can easily move them from bike to bike, but some folks do not like the pedals but haven't heard specific reasons why other than "they suck". Some of the reviews I have found make them seem like a solid option?

Any thoughts or recommendations on power meters would be appreciated.
OUGrad05 is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 12:41 PM
  #2  
WhyFi
Senior Member
 
WhyFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Got a castle in - er, Minneapolis, that's where I dwell!
Posts: 25,401

Bikes: 2016 Diamondback Haanjo, 2018 Trek Domane SL5 Gravel

Mentioned: 311 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9290 Post(s)
Liked 323 Times in 198 Posts
I like my Speedplays so pedal-based meters were out. I went with a Power2Max - it measures total power (rather than doubling the power from one side) and is relatively inexpensive ($490 for the spider-based sensor at the time that I purchased - you may need to replace your current crankset and/or chainrings depending upon compatibility). If I didn't have a Speedplay preference, I probably would have bought some Faveros.
WhyFi is online now  
Old 01-07-19, 12:50 PM
  #3  
surak
Senior Member
 
surak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 724

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix, Giant Contend SL Disc 2, Priority Continuum Onyx, Santana Vision, Kent Dual-Drive Tandem, Priority Classic

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked 28 Times in 16 Posts
All the thoughts you would ever need: https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2018/11/...yers-2018.html

I decided on dual PowerTap P1 pedals because Clever Training had an additional 20% off the newly discounted price during their winter sale. The only pedals that I've seen a lot of current negative issues around are the Garmin Vector 3s. I have no complaints about the PowerTaps - no issues with dropouts or moving them between bikes.
surak is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 12:54 PM
  #4  
OUGrad05
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by surak View Post
All the thoughts you would ever need: https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2018/11/...yers-2018.html

I decided on dual PowerTap P1 pedals because Clever Training had an additional 20% off the newly discounted price during their winter sale. The only pedals that I've seen a lot of current negative issues around are the Garmin Vector 3s. I have no complaints about the PowerTaps - no issues with dropouts or moving them between bikes.
I won't touch another Garmin product...

Powertaps is what I had my eye for pedals, and thank you for posting that link.
OUGrad05 is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 01:27 PM
  #5  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 19,480
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8521 Post(s)
Liked 456 Times in 271 Posts
I've been using Vector 2s for years. They work great. Every now and then they'll get the cadence wrong for one second, they (maybe all pedal meters?) use accelerometers for that. Over the course of an hour or two it doesn't have an effect on anything. But if you want one too so the Chung method a hub might be a better bet.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 02:01 PM
  #6  
firebird854
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 386

Bikes: 2016 Specialized Tarmac Expert

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked 21 Times in 15 Posts
I bought the PowerTap G3 built into their DT Swiss rear wheel https://www.powertap.com/product/dt-...0-alloy-wheels for $499.

I got this so I could use my old wheel as a dedicated training wheel, might be a good idea if you like the trainer too and want to have an easy time switching out (you can keep a trainer tire on it).

Positives:
  • Supports BLE and Ant+
  • Battery lasts crazy long, easy to replace clock battery when the time comes
  • dual sided power (although it doesn't breakout each side's individual power)
  • Awesome support, I crashed, it stopped functioning, sent it to PowerTap, they fixed it no questions asked, at no cost
  • It broadcasts speed and cadence too, so be prepared to craigslist all your current sensors.
Cons:
  • If you just buy the hub you have to get it built into the wheel, this is + like $100
  • it's stuck in your wheel, if you have a bunch of road bikes that all can use the same cassette it's easy to switch it between them, pedals definitely win here.
firebird854 is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 02:22 PM
  #7  
newduguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by firebird854 View Post
I bought the PowerTap G3 built into their DT Swiss rear wheel for $499.

I got this so I could use my old wheel as a dedicated training wheel, might be a good idea if you like the trainer too and want to have an easy time switching out (you can keep a trainer tire on it).

Positives:
  • Supports BLE and Ant+
  • Battery lasts crazy long, easy to replace clock battery when the time comes
  • dual sided power (although it doesn't breakout each side's individual power)
  • Awesome support, I crashed, it stopped functioning, sent it to PowerTap, they fixed it no questions asked, at no cost
  • It broadcasts speed and cadence too, so be prepared to craigslist all your current sensors.
Cons:
  • If you just buy the hub you have to get it built into the wheel, this is + like $100
  • it's stuck in your wheel, if you have a bunch of road bikes that all can use the same cassette it's easy to switch it between them, pedals definitely win here.
If you want to go this route, Powertap is having 30% off right now and they throw in a free wheel bag. I just bought the DTR460 wheel set in September or else I would definitely bite now. About $415 shipped to California for me. The G3 has been every bit as reliable as the P2M I also have on the bike.
newduguy is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 03:50 PM
  #8  
rubiksoval
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Music City, USA
Posts: 2,944

Bikes: Felt AR

Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1707 Post(s)
Liked 85 Times in 52 Posts
Originally Posted by OUGrad05 View Post
I won't touch another Garmin product...

Powertaps is what I had my eye for pedals, and thank you for posting that link.
Might look up some info on Favero Assiomas. Have heard nothing but good things, and while I have two different Powertap products (G3 and C1), I wouldn't get those enormously clunky pedals.
rubiksoval is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 04:01 PM
  #9  
texbiker
Senior Member
 
texbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kingwood, TX
Posts: 765

Bikes: Canyon Endurace CF SLX, Blue Norcorss AL,

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I use a PowerPod from Velocomp. Reasonably priced and gives me the power data I need. It works nicely with my Wahoo Elemnt using speed and cadence sensors.
texbiker is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 04:01 PM
  #10  
OUGrad05
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by newduguy View Post
If you want to go this route, Powertap is having 30% off right now and they throw in a free wheel bag. I just bought the DTR460 wheel set in September or else I would definitely bite now. About $415 shipped to California for me. The G3 has been every bit as reliable as the P2M I also have on the bike.
Powertap has 30% off right now? That includes wheels? Link me bro!
OUGrad05 is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 04:11 PM
  #11  
newduguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by OUGrad05 View Post
Powertap has 30% off right now? That includes wheels? Link me bro!
Go to Powertaps website and look at their wheels! I can 't post the link.......<10 posts, haha.

Or follow the link in firebird854's post.

Let's try this Powertap Wheels!
newduguy is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 04:21 PM
  #12  
OUGrad05
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Thanks guys, no disc support it looks like
OUGrad05 is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 04:59 PM
  #13  
on the path
Señor Blues
 
on the path's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 1,598

Bikes: Cannondale CAAD 10, Breezer Venturi Custom Build, IRO Singlespeed

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
$550 for a Powertap wheelset? What a difference 18 months makes. In May of 2017 I bought a G3 hub only for $600. I spent upwards of $200 additional for a rim, spokes & nipples. So, I spent about $800 for a Powertap rear wheel only, and I put in the hours building the wheel. Damm..
on the path is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 06:01 PM
  #14  
macca33
Senior Member
 
macca33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: West Gippy, Australia
Posts: 607

Bikes: 2017 Ridley Noah SL - Candy Apple DA9000, 2011 CAAD10 Berzerker Ult6800, 2013 FOCUS Mares CX Ult6800

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm a fan of Power2Max - have a few Type-S PMs and they just work - simple, accurate, effective. Also have an SRM and these go as well as it does - with the added advantage, I can change the battery on the P2M, without having to send it off...

cheers
macca33 is offline  
Old 01-07-19, 08:23 PM
  #15  
Sojodave
Senior Member
 
Sojodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Utah
Posts: 410

Bikes: Fezzari Fore CR3 Di2

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked 21 Times in 9 Posts
I planned on getting a power meter for Christmas. I talked to a rep at Clevertraining.com and he said that they have had the least amount of problems with the Powertap pedals vs any other type of power meter. I bought the single side. I'll upgrade to both if I find it necessary.
Sojodave is offline  
Old 01-08-19, 03:47 AM
  #16  
str8jakett
I pedal in my sleep...
 
str8jakett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pulaski VA
Posts: 526

Bikes: Giant Propel Advanced Pro 2017, Giant Propel Advanced Pro 2015, Giant TCR Advanced 0 ISP 2008, Cube Cross Race SL 2018

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Been using single sided Favero Assioma pedals since May, swapping between two bikes, and I'm 100% happy. Not a single dropout or any other issue.
str8jakett is offline  
Old 01-08-19, 06:40 AM
  #17  
Danny01
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've used Powertap hubs, Powertap chainrings, and Stages single and dual sided. I like the powertap hub the best. It never gave me any problems and seemed to have the best temperature compensation. I was able to pick up a brand new Powertap GS hub for around $210. Bargain of the century, even more so because it is my favorite power meter among the ones I've tried. Its pretty much a DT Swiss 240/350 straight pull hub with a power meter built in, so it is very serviceable. It's a shame they discontinued it.
Danny01 is offline  
Old 01-08-19, 11:36 AM
  #18  
RChung
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked 32 Times in 21 Posts
Originally Posted by Seattle Forrest View Post
But if you want one to do the Chung method a hub might be a better bet.
I use and recommend the PT wheel, especially if you can get it at $350.
RChung is offline  
Old 01-08-19, 11:52 AM
  #19  
Munk69
Senior Member
 
Munk69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Western Michigan
Posts: 601

Bikes: Ridley Helium

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Powertap P1 dual sided. Been great for the 2+ years I have owned them.
Munk69 is offline  
Old 01-08-19, 12:32 PM
  #20  
topflightpro
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,417
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1305 Post(s)
Liked 54 Times in 37 Posts
Buy a used SRM.
topflightpro is offline  
Old 01-08-19, 12:38 PM
  #21  
Riveting
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 504

Bikes: '13 Trek Madone 2.3, '13 Diamondback Hybrid Commuter, '17 Spec Roubaix Di2, '17 Spec Camber 29'er

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked 34 Times in 23 Posts
If you need SPD, then pedals are out of the question (at the moment). My PowerTap G3 hub has about 13k miles, and has connected flawlessly to the Garmin 520 (not so much with my previous Garmin 800), and the battery lasts about 1,500 miles.
Riveting is offline  
Old 01-08-19, 07:39 PM
  #22  
OUGrad05
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by Munk69 View Post
Powertap P1 dual sided. Been great for the 2+ years I have owned them.
Did they sort out the high effort power issues they had with those early on? Did some reading last night and it seems like early reviews said they significantly over estimated efforts that were higher in power.
OUGrad05 is offline  
Old 01-09-19, 08:32 AM
  #23  
deepakvrao
Senior Member
 
deepakvrao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bangalore India
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Been using Assiomas for over a year. Solid, and good support when I had some software issues.
deepakvrao is offline  
Old 01-09-19, 08:34 AM
  #24  
jadocs
Senior Member
 
jadocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 872

Bikes: Litespeed T2 Disc, Fondirest P4 Carbon, Fuji Cross 2.0, Specialized Fatboy

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked 91 Times in 70 Posts
I use a non drive side Stages Gen III. It has never failed or cut out and has always been very consistent.
jadocs is offline  
Old 01-09-19, 11:27 AM
  #25  
zacster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 6,150
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 25 Times in 20 Posts
I have the Assiomas also, and have no problems with them. They are rechargeable and I've only had to recharge them twice in a year, even when I rode a lot. I never have any issues with connections either.
zacster is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.