Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

What Are Things To Look At & Watch Out For When Buying A Bike For The Commute

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-12, 09:03 PM
Caudata

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm fairly new to the cycling scene, never owned a bike. I want a bike to replace my car. I've met up with someone on Craigslist to look at a bike and it was visibly worn out and needed more than just a simply tune up. The tires were completely trashed, the grip on the handle was flaking away, the seat was clear ripped, the stem was blatantly taped on, brakes were shot, and rust had begun to take its course on the chain. The bike was worth no more than 40$ and he demanded 160$. The only good thing about the bike was that it was light as a feather, picked it up with two fingers.

So after that disappointing meet, it made me think what are some things to look for in a bike and things to watch out for when buying a used commuting bike?

I know that some bikes cater to your needs, but I just need a bike to take me across town and back when I need to go. Would a department store bike suffice or specific type and brand of bike do me proper?

thanks!
Old 09-12-12, 09:20 PM
no1mad 
Thunder Whisperer

Bikes: '06 Kona Smoke

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Establish a budget. Buy from a LBS if at all possible. If funds are tight, try to find a shop that sells used, or a bike co-op or bike kitchen. Getting a frame that fits you properly is absolutely vital. You might spend a bit of time reading this thread: https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread...e-bike)-Me-too