Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Tubeless road tires

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Tubeless road tires

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-19, 03:49 PM
Broctoon
Super-duper Genius

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 768 Post(s)
Liked 984 Times in 508 Posts
Tubeless road tires

I have zero experience with tubulars, quite a bit with clinchers of various types and sizes, and just a little with tubeless. My one bike that I’ve set up tubeless is for general kicking around, commuting, chasing my wife and kids down the MUP. I went with a 35mm width on it, because speed and weight aren’t big concerns, but smooth ride on a variety of surfaces is. Most importantly, I don’t want to deal with punctures, and it’s been great for that.

Now I’m thinking about going tubeless on my next road bike. I’ll probably choose a 25mm something. Not interested in running low pressure, but weight savings from foregoing tubes sounds nice, and again, self sealing punctures: big plus.

How much pressure are guys puttting in 25mm tubeless? Any recommendations on tire models? (For general fitness riding/training on smooth pavement)

The rim I’m considering is the Pacenti Brevet 700C. It seems to check all my boxes.

I understand it may be ill advised to pump up any tubeless tire beyond ~60 to 80 lbs. Will this moderately low pressure negate any performance advantage gained by the lack of tubes?

Does a tubeless setup make sense for amateur, performance oriented road biking?
Old 06-04-19, 04:11 PM
Lrdchaos

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked 18 Times in 13 Posts