Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Road bikes on a budget

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Road bikes on a budget

Old 08-22-19, 10:16 AM
Gorrister

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Road bikes on a budget

Hey everybody! Long time lurker first time poster. So basically I’m getting back into riding after a five year hiatus of abusing my body. I have an old miyata base model from the late 80s that I’ve upgraded a bit, and I love it and its a great commuter bike. However, I’d love something new for longer rides and camping trips. I’m a small business owner and I’d love to support my local bike shop, but the cheapest road bikes they carry are usually around
$1200, and I just can’t afford that. I’m a musician so my life is already basically one big expensive hobby.
That being said, what are your experiences with this bikesdirect Windsor and motobecane stuff? They seem to have decent aluminum frame, some cf fork some cromo fork, shimano sti, and decent looking crank for around $4-500 which is something I could more realistically save for. I know there’s some attitude in the community regarding off brand or cheap stuff, and I understand that as it’s a similar deal in my world with musical instruments, but I’m looking for function.
Also, I’m considering going with a gravel bike over a road bike as it seems a bit more utilitarian for the odd gravel path or hiking trail I might pass over, although it’ll be primary road riding. What do I lose here? A tiny bit of speed isn’t a big deal as I’m only racing myself.

Thank you, sorry for the long winded post, and nice to meet you!

TLDR honest opinions on bikesdirect road bikes and gravel v road
Old 08-22-19, 10:23 AM
86az135i