Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Wahoo speed sensor won't fit

Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Wahoo speed sensor won't fit

Old 06-08-19, 11:17 PM
  #1  
u235
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
u235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked 22 Times in 19 Posts
Wahoo speed sensor won't fit

I have new wheels, the hub center section is too narrow and too fat to fit the Wahoo speed sensor. They are straight pull with a larger ends. Any alternatives BT or ant+ or a way to mount it sideways (90 degrees)? In theory I could find a larger strap and kind of strap in on at an angle maybe.
u235 is offline  
Old 06-09-19, 05:30 AM
  #2  
ChinookTx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 251

Bikes: Kona Rove Ti., Motobecane Whipshot Ti

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked 39 Times in 31 Posts
Clearly you need new wheels. ;-)

I can't help with a solution only to say I noticed my garmin sensor very barely fit on my set of wheels as well. I don't know if changing the orientation of the sensor will mess the readings, but it's worth a try.

If you could find that mounting bit, maybe it would fit?
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Velocompute.../dp/B00WFMK1TG
ChinookTx is offline  
Old 06-11-19, 12:28 PM
  #3  
John_V 
Senior Member
 
John_V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 5,302

Bikes: 2017 Colnago C-RS, 2012 Colnago Ace, 2010 Giant Cypress hybrid

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by u235 View Post
..... Any alternatives BT or ant+ or a way to mount it sideways (90 degrees)? .....
Only alternative I can think of is to use a combination speed/cadence sensor on the chain stay. You may want to compare your Wahoo to a Garmin sensor and see if it's any narrower but in either case, it's going to cost you extra bucks. Not sure how you would mount the sensor vertically or even if it works in that position.
__________________
HCFR Cycling Team
Ride Safe ... Ride Hard ... Ride Daily

2017 Colnago C-RS
2012 Colnago Ace
2010 Giant Cypress
John_V is offline  
Old 06-18-19, 01:35 PM
  #4  
ymee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by u235 View Post
I have new wheels, the hub center section is too narrow and too fat to fit the Wahoo speed sensor. They are straight pull with a larger ends. Any alternatives BT or ant+ or a way to mount it sideways (90 degrees)? In theory I could find a larger strap and kind of strap in on at an angle maybe.
I had the same problem but installed them at an angle, works just fine.
ymee is offline  
Old 06-18-19, 02:48 PM
  #5  
u235
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
u235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked 22 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by ymee View Post
I had the same problem but installed them at an angle, works just fine.
I ended up doing the same, used a longer rubber strap from something else and it sits a little funny but so far so good.
u235 is offline  
Old 06-18-19, 05:46 PM
  #6  
JohnJ80
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,992

Bikes: N+1=5

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Did you try both hubs?
JohnJ80 is offline  
Old 06-19-19, 09:17 PM
  #7  
u235
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
u235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked 22 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by JohnJ80 View Post
Did you try both hubs?
I did. The back was worse.
u235 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.