Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Newbie ride problem, not sure if it’s me or cheap bike.

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 12-18-17, 03:44 PM
JohnnyB65

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

OK so I’m just learning on a used big-box store 21 speed mountain bike and I’m having some trouble shifting and turning. Now I know you all are going to tell me to spend a lot of money on another bike, but that is NOT going to happen at this point. So please I just don’t want to hear it because I am not racing, mountain climbing or anything that I even need gears for plus I already know I have the wrong bike, but it was free.

I paid a bike shop to go through and tune-up my free bike so I think it might be me that’s the problem. First off is my turning which is rough and I think it might be the fat dirt tires. I’m not sure if that is normal.

And secondly is my shifting. I’ve never ridden anything over 10 speeds so I looked on YouTube to see how to shift. I believe I only need medium on the front and maybe 3rd, 4th and 5th gear on the back according to the video. The problem that I’m having is that it freewheels between each pedal cycle even though I think I’m constantly pedaling without hesitation. Each time it catches up, the gear sounds like its slamming.

The shop put on a new chain and said they took it for a ride before giving it the OK. So is this normal? I don’t remember this ever happening on my old 10 speed.
Old 12-18-17, 03:48 PM
caloso

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Canyon Exceed, Specialized Transition, Ellsworth Roots, Ridley Excalibur

Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Quoted: 2952 Post(s)
Liked 3,106 Times in 1,417 Posts
Originally Posted by JohnnyB65