Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Have you been in an cycling accident? How long before getting back on bike?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-17, 02:27 PM
PastorJim

Bikes: Trek 1.2, Schwinn Sidewinder 26" Men's (SRAM Max Pro) & Trident TW Bents

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have been cycling for 6 years now (14,680 miles total) averaging over 2400 per year.
I have had to accidents with injury. This recent on took 4 months to get back on Trek.

Have you been in an cycling accident with injury?

After your crash/injury how long until you were cycling again?

Any changes in cycling since your accident?

It really amazes me the amount of injuries (scrapes/fall over don't count) cyclist have and still we get back on the bike again!

Thanks!
Old 12-28-17, 02:51 PM
pesty
Master Sarcaster

Bikes: 2018 Allez Sprint, 2016 Trek Crockett Canti

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Depends on the accident and the injury, your doctor should decide, but for me personally, as quickly as possible.

I've never been in an accident that involved a motor vehicle while on a bike, but I've had my share of wrecks. I ride on average about 6-7,000 miles a year and crash one to two times a year. Unless I actually have an injury that prevents me from being on the bike, I make a point to get on the bike the same or the next day explicitly to prevent me from making any detrimental changes to how I ride.