Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

Upgrades for a cheap folder?

Search
Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-12, 10:05 PM
smanitor

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello everybody, I'm a newb so bear with me...

I bought my first folding bike about 2 months ago, basically the cheapest 6 speed folder on Amazon. I got it basically new off craigslist for $70. I can't complain about its performance for the price, but there are a few things about it that I'd like to upgrade and I was wondering if you guys thought it would be worth it.

The front wheel has a small dent that causes it to wobble and lightly hit the brake. I have been riding it like that since I bought it. Is this worth getting fixed/replaced?

The handlebars on this thing are probably the cheapest part. Here is a link so you can see what I'm talking about... https://www.amazon.com/Folding-Bicycl...pr_product_top They are basically just an aluminum T clamped in the stem. They are very loose and squeak like crazy the entire time I'm riding. I'm not sure what kind of handlebars or handle bar stem I need to buy to replace the crappy thing I have. Any ideas?

Also, what is your opinion of suspension seat posts?

Kthx. Kbye.
Old 12-07-12, 07:01 AM
cplager
The Recumbent Quant

Bikes: 2012 Cruzbike Sofrider, 2013 Cruzigami Mantis, 2016 Folding CruziTandem

Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Hi,

A couple of comments:

* If you keep the frame but basically upgrade everything else, that will be more expensive overall then buying a higher end bike. If you've enjoyed the bike, then maybe you should just consider it a stepping stone to a nicer folding bike. This is what I'd probably recommend.