Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

Front wheel touching pedal

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-20, 08:38 PM
Magicpaul

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi,
newbie here.

i just purchased a used fixie and noticed that when I turn my front wheel you around 45 degrees, the wheel touches my left pedal.

i know a little of toe overlap but not sure if it’s supposed to be this over. It gets quite difficult when I try turning. I either skid my shoes or completely stop and get caught in the pedal.

It happens more frequent when I’m going slow since I have to turn the wheels but happens occasionally when going in moderate speeds.

my tire is 700x28cc. I would post photos but won’t let me..

do I need to change tire size?
change forks?
or just deal with it since it’s normal?

Any advice would help.
thanks in advance!
Old 06-20-20, 09:20 PM
AlmostTrick
Tortoise Wins by a Hare!

Bikes: Wabi Special FG, Raleigh Roper, Nashbar AL-1, Miyata One Hundred, '70 Schwinn Lemonator and More!!

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Quoted: 1549 Post(s)
Liked 941 Times in 504 Posts
Originally Posted by Magicpaul
Hi,
newbie here.

i just purchased a used fixie and noticed that when I turn my front wheel you around 45 degrees, the wheel touches my left pedal.
Maybe the fork was bent back in a crash. Take a good look from the side of the bike.

Toe overlap is just that... only your toe touches. If the pedal is hitting the tire, that's NOT normal, even on a bike with toe overlap.
Old 06-21-20, 09:24 AM
TejanoTrackie 
Veteran Racer

Bikes: 32 frames + 80 wheels

Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Quoted: 1331 Post(s)