Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

Is the Canyon Roadlite AL 7.0 the most affordable Shimano 105 group fitness bike?

Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Is the Canyon Roadlite AL 7.0 the most affordable Shimano 105 group fitness bike?

Old 06-03-19, 03:59 PM
CarloM

Bikes: 2019 TCR Advanced SL1 Disc; 2018 Cervelo S3 SRAM eTap HRD; 2020 Giant Revolt Advanced

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked 128 Times in 100 Posts

Hi All,

So as some of you may know, I'm waiting for delivery on my Trek FX Sport 6. My LBS has given me an old Trek FX as a loaner until it arrives in a couple of weeks, and I've been riding it a lot. Also, I just got back into cycling after a 25+ year absence, so I am by no means an expert. In fact I joined this forum to get up to speed and learn from this wonderful community.

What I've also been doing recently is going to a bunch of different shops and riding a bunch of different bikes. One thing I've been hearing is that most employees say they have a less expensive bike that they ride around town to do chores vs. their enthusiast bike. While my $2K FXS6 isn't top of the line, it got me thinking that I would probably want a more affordable bike to ride around to do short errands.

While I have ridden a bunch of other brands in the past week or so, in addition to the FX nearly every day, and they all have their strengths and differences. I will say the one thing I'm discovering is that the ones I have liked the most (including the one I bought) all have the new Shimano 105 R7000 groupset. I just love the 11 gears in the back and the silky smooth and snappy shifting of it. I didn't even realize that was the one thing in common until I compared all the model numbers I had written down and looked online at their specs.