Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

At What Point do You Transition From Road Bike to Endurance Bike?

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 03-10-21, 06:47 PM
Bassmanbob

Bikes: 2014 Cannondale Supersix EVO 3, 2015 Trek 520, 2017 Bike Friday Pocket Rocket, 2022 Moots Vamoots Disc RSL

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked 267 Times in 140 Posts

I'm a soon to be 56 year-old guy who's always been very tight (inflexible). Even as a thin high school track athlete, I was the guy who could never touch his toes during stretching. I've been riding for 7 years now, most of it on a Cannondale SuperSix EVO 3 road bike or a Trek 520 when I bicycle commute to work. I find that the last few months, when I get off the Cannondale after a 3-6 hour ride, I feel pretty beat up. I do notice that since I've been riding almost exclusively solo since COVID hit us, I find my hands are more frequently off the hoods an on the back curve of the handlebars. When I put them back on the hoods, I feel like I'm stretching a bit. When I ride the Trek 520, I don't feel beat up. Also note that I do 15- 20 minutes of stretching my back and legs every morning.

At what point did you decide to transition from a typical road bike to an endurance bike? What were the factors that made you transition? I'm currently saving for a titanium bike and am trying to decided between a typical road bike or an endurance set up.
Old 03-10-21, 07:06 PM
scottfsmith
I like bike

Bikes: Roubaix Comp 2020

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked 283 Times in 191 Posts