Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Was I duped by a dealer?

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Was I duped by a dealer?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-23, 08:23 AM
greenyone

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Was I duped by a dealer?

Opinions and suggestions please. I'm new to the sport. I bought a brand new bike from a local/shop dealer on 06/29/2023. I went to the manufacturers website to register my purchase only to find out that the bike is actually a 2021 model. The dealer never informed me that I was buying what I consider 'new old stock'. With any product where models are separated by the year/date of manufacture I feel like this should be something that should have been specified by the dealer. I mean it's not posted on a window sticker like a car so maybe I was naive for thinking I was getting a 2023. Anyway, here is my issue. I really wanted a bike that had a dropper post and the dealer informed me that I'd have to step up to a more expensive model to get that feature on a stock bike, otherwise I'd have to buy a dropper after the fact and have it installed. He suggested that it's a $300-$400 option and that's the main difference between the two models. I took his word for it and bought the lesser model with the intension of adding a dropper myself down the road. Now having found out it's a 2021 model and that the newer version of the bike comes with the dropper and is THE SAME EXACT PRICE on the manufacturers website, I feel like he took me for a ride. Thoughts, opinions, suggestions???
Old 07-03-23, 08:55 AM
2old

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked 849 Times in 642 Posts