Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

New Rider, I need some help!

Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Old 07-02-19, 11:42 AM
JayCycles1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey everyone,

Thanks for checking my post. So, I am currently looking at two bikes as my first purchase. First one being a Golden Cycles Vader single speed and the second being a 6ku Urban Track Bike, both being within my budget. I have very little knowledge on what makes a bike "good" and would appreciate any feedback. Looking for the better bike overall. Thanks!
Old 07-02-19, 12:50 PM
PeopleAreIdiots

Bikes: Disc Brake Wabi Special, GT Pulse, Fuji Track Beater

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked 40 Times in 20 Posts
My understanding is that all bikes in this price range are about the same in terms of frame quality and componentry. They are all hi-ten (read "cheap and heavy") steel frames with lower quality components. I'd pick whichever one you think looks better and/or you can get a better deal on.

The great thing about bikes in this pricerange is that they're cheap, rideable and relatively good looking. However, you can get a LOT more bike for your money if you look around a little more and are willing to stretch your budget a bit.