Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Spending too much on a bike that isnt worth it.

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-16, 06:26 PM
chaseyyz

Bikes: Peugeot Sport (single speed), Peugeot Club

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Im kinda new to the world of bikes and learning about them and building and compatibility of parts etc,

im one bike down so far a 80's peugeot which i made into a single speed, and so far i love it and it was built on a budget, but now im working on this other 80's peugeot 10 speed which is also crappy steel 103 but ive commited myself to this bike that isnt worth it lol, just because! no real good reason except for the paint is like new for an 80s bike and i got it for 50 bucks.

since tallying my parts, ive been to several LBS and seen better new aluminum bikes for less than what ive so far spent and im not even finished!

so just curious how many of you throw money at bikes that arent really worth the money
Old 09-09-16, 06:29 PM
Murray Missile 

Bikes: More than there were awhile ago.

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked 1,283 Times in 610 Posts
Guilty but if you enjoy the bike who cares?
Old 09-09-16, 06:35 PM
chaseyyz

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
touche! i guess my moral issue is, i bought this bike for 50 and could have flipped it likely for 2-300 locally, it really is in that new of condition.

but instead ill spend 3-400 on it and likely only get my money back when im done (im really building this for the sake of learning not for long term, after this one i will focus on actually finding a quality frame to start with.
Old 09-09-16, 06:42 PM
CliffordK

Mentioned: 217 Post(s)
Quoted: 18376 Post(s)
Liked 4,511 Times in 3,353 Posts