Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

Tern Verge D9

Search
Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

Tern Verge D9

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-19, 11:49 AM
guoze

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Tern Verge D9

Hi,

I have been riding my D9 for 2 yrs or so, and am thinking it's about time for an upgrade.
As I love speedy rides, what basic upgrades should I get without changing the gear set configuration?
What brand and model to get to replace my stock tyres and crankset?

Cheers,
Old 10-22-19, 01:35 PM
tomtomtom123

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked 122 Times in 90 Posts
Well that is a question that has a variety of answers and is very dependent on what kind of goals you want to achieve. You should ask yourself what it is that you want. Do you want lighter weight, more puncture protection, softer ride, etc?

Having 451 rims, the Tern D9 will be more limited in tire options. I'm not familiar with that size, but all the Schwalbe tire models that I use for 406 rims are not available for 451. There are a few lighter and narrow road models that are available for 451. But I use heavier tires that are wider and have extra puncture protection, for the softer ride and almost no punctures, like Marathon or Big Ben Plus. The inner width of your rim will also affect the range of tire widths that are optimally compatible with the rim. And the fork clearance will affect the maximum width of the tires.