Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Tire Anatomy Question + Weird Fit

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-09, 08:59 PM
domzilla9

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I tried searching this forum, but since I don't know the proper terminology I may have missed the mark. Yep, I'm a noob. Please bear with me.

First, the anatomical question: Ok, you where the tire bead is, right? Well, what do you call the lines that sit just outside of each bead on the wall of the tire and sit flush with rim's outer edge when the tire is mounted? On some tires these lines are solid. On other tires these line may be harsh marks, dots, etc. I would assume that the lines' purpose is show the relative location of the bead and that if the line sits flush to the rim's outer edge and is visible along the entire circumference of the rim, one could assume that the bead is seated correctly. Yeah, so what's that line called?

Next, here's my problem. I have a wheel set that seems to have a problem with whatever-that-line-is-called. I've mounted three different makes of tires on these wheels and produced the same weirdness with all three tire types: With the tires fully inflated (and even inflated at max psi + 10% for sake of experiment, not for riding) this line dips below the edge of the rim in one five to six inch length on each side of the wheel. This would lead me to believe that the tire beads are not seating correctly in the rim.

The tires I've used are:
- brand new, never used 28mm Kendas (don't now the model)
- brand new, never used 32mm Hutchinson Urban Tour
- used, high mileage 32mm Bontrager Race Lite Hard Case